Genre: Jazz
Label: Venus


Enrico Rava Italian Ballads Single-Layer Stereo Japanese Import SACD

Enrico Rava

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player!

Memorable And Haunting Melodies!

Enrico Rava is a jazz trumpeter and arguably one of the best known Italian jazz musicians. He started on trombone, then changed to the trumpet after hearing Miles Davis. In the 1970s and 1980s he worked with Pat Metheny, Michel Petrucciani, John Abercrombie, Joe Henderson, Richard Galliano, Miroslav Vitouš, Andrea Centazzo, Joe Lovano, Gil Evans and Cecil Taylor. Chiefly an exponent of bebop jazz, Rava has also played in avant-garde jazz settings.

"On this CD, the lyrical trumpeter Enrico Rava performs themes from Fellini movies, operas and classical music, along with three originals by band members. Despite its title, not all of the selections are taken at slower tempos, but there is an emphasis on memorable and haunting melodies. The results, which do not quite fit in as avant-garde or world music, are certainly jazz. Rava, guitarists Domenico Carliri and Roberto Cecchetto, and guest Richard Galliano on accordion get some individual improvisations, generally remaining within the mood of each piece while stretching its boundaries a bit. Barbara Casini's occasional vocals in Italian are a strong asset, and she comes across much closer to a bossa nova singer than to an opera star. Definitely an intriguing set." - Scatt Yanow,

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Single-Layer SACD can only be played on a Super Audio CD Player! It will NOT play on conventional CD Players!
• Made in Japan

Enrico Rava, trumpet
Domenico Caliri, guitars
Roberto Cecchetto, guitars
Giovanni Maier, double bass
U.T. Ghandi, drums & percussions
Barbara Casini, vocal
Richard Galliano, accordion

1. The Song Of Gelsomina
2. Giulietta Degli Spiriti
3. Un Bel Di, Vedremo
4. Il Cielo In Una Stanza
5. Margherita
6. Bella
7. Un Canto
8. Diva
9. Torna A Surriento
10. Senza Fine
11. E Se Domani
12. Due Note
13. Stringimi Forte I Polsi
14. More
15. O Mio Babbino Caro

Customers Also Like