Eric Bibb Dear America 180g 2LP

Eric Bibb

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Blues Troubadour On 180g Vinyl Double LP!
Featuring Ron Carter, Shaneeka Simon, Eric Gales, Chuck Campbell & More!

If you could call out to your country, what would you say? When Eric Bibb embarked on the title song that would galvanize his latest album, Dear America, the songwriter found himself unpacking a seven-decade relationship with a partner of dramatic extremes. Bibb has known many different Americas - the good, the bad and the ugly. Born in New York City on August 16th, 1951, the thunderbolt of the Sixties folk revival remains an era so alive in the 69-year-old's memory. Yet, just as vivid are the dark societal flashpoints of the last year, when protesters highlighted the open wound of US race relations while a bitter Presidential election scrawled jagged battlelines. "This album is a love letter," Bibb explains of the record's root concept, "because America, for all of its associations with pain and its bloody history, has always been a place of incredible hope and optimism. You see young people now and it's amazing, with the whole Black Lives Matter movement. All of those things let me know that there is a kind of reverberation from the Sixties energy. You can't keep a good thing down."

Recorded before the pandemic shuttered the world's recording studios, the chemistry on Dear America is palpable, with each musician playing with the emotional commitment demanded by the material. In November 2019, the bandleader hit Brooklyn's Studio G to track the album with producer/co-writer Glen Scott, along with a studio band featuring the talismanic drummer Steve Jordan and Memphis guitar sensation Eric Gales. What resulted is a thoughtful record that brings Bibb full circle, taking the pulse of these febrile times while returning the songwriter to his proud roots in New York. "My home now is Sweden," says Bibb, "but New York City was where I came of age. So to be there, recording this album that had so much to do with my whole journey - it was really inspiring."

And yet, just as the history of the United States has both light and shade, so does Dear America. It's a record that laces its exploration of the nation's most poisonous issues with hope, love and a brighter road ahead. All is not lost, stresses Bibb, and neither are we. Bibb leaves no doubt that the future is ours to write.

Dear America features guest appearances from Eric Gales, Ron Carter, Billy Branch, Shaneeka Simon, Tommy Sims, Glen Scott, and Lisa Mills.

Despite a catalogue of fine, groundbreaking albums, Dear America stands apart. It's a tender, wise, album-length manifesto of love for a place, history, and people that haven't always loved him back. Throughout it, he invites listeners to abandon small thinking and hate and to engage empathy in order to set real change in motion. Ultimately, Dear America is Bibb's masterpiece.
-Thom Jurek,, 4.5/5 stars (The AllMusic 2021 Year In Review - Best Of 2021)


  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in France


Side A:

  1. Whole Lotta Lovin' (feat. Ron Carter)
  2. Born Of A Woman (feat. Shaneeka Simon)
  3. Whole World's Got The Blues (feat. Eric Gales)

Side B:

  1. Dear America
  2. Different Picture (feat. Chuck Campbell)
  3. Tell Yourself

Side C:

  1. Emmett's Ghost (feat. Ron Carter)
  2. White & Black
  3. Along The Way
  4. Talkin' 'Bout A Train Part 1 (feat. Billy Branch)

Side D:

  1. Talkin' 'Bout A Train Part 2
  2. Love's Kingdom (feat. Tommy Sims & Glen Scott)
  3. One-ness Of Love (feat. Lisa Mills)

Customers Also Like