Genre: Blues
Label: Pure Pleasure
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Eric Bibb & Friends Friends 180g 2LP

Eric Bibb & Friends

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the May 2011 Issue of Stereophile!

Audio Beat Rated 4/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sound!

Re-mastering by Ray Staff at Air Mastering, Lyndhurst Hall, London. Pressed at Pallas in Germany!.

Friends, originally released in 2004, is a collection of tracks featuring rootsy folk and blues collaborations with Bibb and friends including Taj Mahal, Odetta, Charlie Musselwhite, Guy Davis, Mamadou Diabate, Djelimady Toukara and more!

Friends is the accurate and revealing title for New York bluesman Eric Bibb's tenth album since 1997. The cuts here feature rootsy folk and blues collaborations with different "friends" in differing small group settings. The set starts with a killer acoustic slide duet between Bibb and Guy Davis on the nugget "99 ½ Won't Do." The contrast between Davis' sweet and smoky delivery and Bibb's husky wail — akin to Blind Willie Johnson's in places — offers a double-sided dimension in interpretation for the listener, as well. Elsewhere, Charlie Musselwhite gives a killer snaky harmonica performance on "Six O' Clock Blues." Taj Mahal makes two appearances; one in a duet on "Goin' Down Slow," and one in a trio with Bibb and Malian guitarist Djelimady Tounkara on a medley of the traditional "Kulanjan" and Bibb's own "Sebastian's Tune." Speaking of Mali, and Mahal, Bibb also covers the elder bluesman's classic "Lovin' in My Baby's Eyes," with the great kora player Mamadou Diabate that rivals the original. There's also a gorgeous version of Guy and Susanna Clark's "The Cape," with guitarist Martin Simpson, Bibb's moving "For You" with Ruthie Foster, and "Tain't No Such Thing," a bright new folk song written and sung with legendary folksinger Odetta. Mohan Veena ace Harry Manx performs with Bibb on the high lonesome, droning blues of "Needed Time," and with Kristina Olsen on her "If I Stayed." The set closes with the tender "Dance Me to the End of Love," (an original, not the Leonard Cohen tune) with the Lovin' Spoonful Jerry Yester playing piano. Given that most records of this type are mixed bags at best, with "star-studded" collabs serving to muck up or water down rather than enhance performances, Friends is an anomaly. There is nothing that's obvious or overblown here, everything is subtly shaded, and the performers serve the songs and not themselves. The listener gets no sense of back-patting or self-congratulation, only the great pleasure of hearing this music in a revealing, emotionally honest way. Bravo. - Thom Jurek/AMG

"Combine the talents of folk-blues star Eric Bibb with a host of accomplished musical friends and you have the makings of a significant album… Friends also has wonderful sonics. There's space aplenty, along with tone and timbre that sound real. Most of all, though, there is a sense of presence, the feeling of actually being in the company of the musicians." - John Crossett,, 4/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sound!

• Double LP
• Pressed at Pallas in Germany
• 180 Gram Vinyl
• Limited Edition
• Audiophile Re-Mastering
• Gatefold jacket

LP1 - Side A:
1. 99 1/2 Won't Do (feat. Guy Davis)
2. Six O'Clock Blues (feat. Charlie Musselwhite)
3. Goin' Down Slow (feat. Taj Mahal)
LP1 - Side B:
1. Lovin' In My Baby's Eyes (feat. Mamadou Diabate)
2. For You (feat. Ruthie Foster)
3. The Cape (feat. Martin Simpson)
4. 'Tain't Such A Much (feat. Odetta)
LP2 - Side C:
1. Needed Time (feat. Harry Manx)
2. If I Stayed (feat. Kristine Olsen)
3. Connected
4. Ribbons and Bows
LP2 - Side D:
1. Just Look Up
2. Cowgirl Queen
3. Kulanjan/Sebastian's Tune (feat. Taj Mahal, Djelimady Tounkara)
4. Dance Me To The End Of Love (feat. Jerry Lester)

Customers Also Like