Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Grateful Dead Dick's Picks Vol. 36 - The Spectrum, Philadelphia, PA Hand-Numbered Limited Edition 180g 7LP Box Set

Grateful Dead

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Out of print only 1 copy available!

Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition Of 2000 Copies!
7LP Set Pressed On 180g Vinyl At Furnace!
Remastered For Vinyl By Jeffrey Norman At Mockingbird Mastering From Bear's Original Tapes!

In the Grateful Dead firmament, there are countless good shows, shining like stars in the sky. Then there are the great shows, those that shine the brightest. And then there are the truly transcendent shows, those that exert a gravitational pull - dare we say it, like a "Dark Star" - on all the other concerts from that particular year or tour. These are the nights that every Dead Head learns about right after getting on board the bus...and the September 21, 1972 performance at the Spectrum in Philadelphia is truly one of those nights.

This is the concert that original Dead archivist Dick Latvala strongly considered to kick off the Dick's Picks series, and it's the one that ended it. It's one of those nights when every Garcia guitar solo tells a story, when the rhythm section is locked in like the gears on a Swiss watch, and when the band is repeatedly hitting its vocal harmonies dead-on. It's also a show when Bob Weir absolutely shreds, his unusual chord voicings and off-time guitar fills perfectly complementing Jerry's leads (the set also includes some highlights from the 9/3/72 show at Folsom Field in Boulder, CO).

So when the folks at Real Gone Music were considering which Pick to put on vinyl next, the choice was pretty obvious. But to do this concert justice, we had to bring in the best. This 7-LP set is mastered for vinyl by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering from Bear's original tapes, which are absolutely brilliant in their clarity and immediacy. Lacquers are cut by Jeff Powell, who got his start at Memphis's legendary Ardent Studios and has worked with everybody from Bob Dylan to Gregg Allman to Irma Thomas. Pressed on 180-gram vinyl at Furnace Record Pressing, the vacuum-quiet test pressings were approved by engineer Norman, Dead archivist David Lemieux, and Real Gone's own Gordon Anderson. And each of the seven LPs is housed inside a polyvinyl sleeve carefully nestled (with extra padding!) inside a two-piece hardshell box.

Real Gone Music has also included a 4-page insert featuring, along with original photos and graphics and Bear's original notes, a word from Bear's son Starfinder Stanley on behalf of the Owsley Stanley Foundation, who kindly provided the tapes for our reissue. Limited to 2000 hand-numbered copies, this one's going to be a keepsake. Don't miss it.


  • Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - 2000 Copies
  • 7LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Remastered For Vinyl By Jeffrey Norman from Bear's Original Tapes
  • Remastered At Mockingbird Mastering
  • Lacquers Cut By Jeff Powell
  • Pressed At Furnace Record Pressing
  • Polyvinyl Sleeves
  • Two-Piece Hardshell Box
  • 4-Page Full-Sized Insert includes Bear's original notes & new notes from Bear's son Starfinder Stanley


Jerry Garcia lead guitar, vocals
Keith Godchaux keyboards
Donna Jean Godchaux vocals
Bill Kreutzmann drums
Phil Lesh electric bass, vocals
Bob Weir rhythm guitar, vocals


Set One

Side A:
  1. Promised Land
  2. Bird Song
  3. El Paso
Side B:
  1. China Cat Sunflower
  2. I Know You Rider
  3. Black-Throated Wind
Side C:
  1. Big Railroad Blues
  2. Jack Straw
  3. Loser
  4. Big River
Side D:
  1. Ramble On Rose
  2. Cumberland Blues
Side E:
  1. Playing In The Band

Set Two

Side F:
  1. He's Gone
Side G:
  1. Truckin'
  2. Black Peter
Side H:
  1. Mexicali Blues
  2. Dark Star
Side I:
  1. Dark Star (cont.)
Side J:
  1. Morning Dew
  2. Beat It On Down The Line
Side K:
  1. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo
  2. Sugar Magnolia
  3. Friend Of The Devil
Side L:
  1. Not Fade Away
  2. Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  3. Not Fade Away
  4. One More Saturday Night

From 9/3/72 Folsom Field, Boulder, CO

Side M:
  1. He's Gone
  2. The Other One
Side N:
  1. The Other One (cont.)
  2. Wharf Rat