Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Warner
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Grateful Dead History of the Grateful Dead, Vol. 1 (Bear's Choice) 50th Anniversary Edition 180g LP

Grateful Dead

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

50th Anniversary Edition 180g Vinyl LP!
The Grateful Dead's First-Ever Archival Release!
Featuring a Full Side Each of Acoustic & Electric Dead!
Remastered from the Original Analog Tapes by David Glasser!

The Grateful Dead's first true archival album, Bear's Choice, was lovingly produced as a tribute to Pigpen shortly after he passed by none other than the Dead's original soundman and benefactor, Owsley Stanley, aka Bear. Drawing from live shows recorded three years earlier by Bear at the Fillmore East in New York City, Bear's Choice captures the Dead at an essential moment of their history, as they were about to record Workingman's Dead (and shortly after that, American Beauty), and were transitioning into becoming Americana pioneers, while never losing touch with their psychedelic improvisational roots. Three of the eight songs on the album are sung by Pigpen, with Side 1 being the definitive example of early acoustic Dead and Side 2 being electric blues and rock & roll, with Pigpen leading the charge on both tracks on the second side. This has been remastered by David Glasser using Plangent Processes from the original analog 2-track tapes recorded live by Bear and has never sounded better.


  • 50th Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Recorded Live at Bill Graham's Fillmore East, February 13 & 14, 1970
  • Music Curated by Owsley "Bear" Stanley
  • Remastered by David Glasser from the Original Analog 2-Track Tapes Using Plangent Processes
  • Produced for Release by David Lemieux
  • Made in USA


Side I:

  1. Katie Mae
  2. Dark Hollow
  3. I've Been All Around This World
  4. Wake Up Little Susie
  5. Black Peter

Side II:

  1. Smokestack Lightnin
  2. Hard to Handle

Customers Also Like