Genre: Classical
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Grigory Sokolov Schubert & Beethoven 180g 3LP

Grigory Sokolov

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Out of Print! Only 1 copy available!

180g Vinyl Triple LP!

Grigory Sokolov’s relationship with Deutsche Grammophon deepens with release of a captivating live album of late masterworks, including Schubert’s Four Impromptus D899 and Beethoven’s “Hammerklavier” Sonata.

Grigory Sokolov is recognized as a titan among classical musicians. The Russian pianist’s interpretative insights and visionary musicianship arise from absolute dedication to his art and total immersion in every piece he performs. His Deutsche Grammophon debut album of works by Mozart and Chopin, The Salzburg Recital, ended an extended period during which he issued no new recordings. It drew worldwide critical acclaim, received a coveted ECHO Klassik Award, and became one of the Yellow Label's best-selling core classical titles of 2015. Sokolov’s 2016 release is poised to join its predecessor as a major landmark of the piano catalogue. Sokolov: Schubert/Beethoven confirms why audiences are prepared to queue overnight for a chance to hear the maestro’s peerless artistry.

Sokolov’s new 3LP set comprises interpretations of such late masterworks by Schubert as the Four Impromptus D899 (including a spellbinding account of the Impromptu No. 3 in G flat major) and Beethoven’s monumental “Hammerklavier” Sonata. It also presents beguiling readings of a generous selection of encores: five sparkling miniatures by Jean-Philippe Rameau and Brahms’s Intermezzo in B flat minor Op. 117 No. 2. The Beethoven and the encore pieces, recorded live at the 2013 Salzburg Festival, were greeted with ecstatic press reviews. The Salzburger Nachrichten described Sokolov’s music-making as “a miracle of pictorial pianism”, while Seen and Heard International was convinced that “no one alive, and perhaps ever, on whatever instrument, has played Rameau with such distinction”.

Beethoven’s “Hammerklavier” makes extreme technical and musical demands on the artist, as it probes the limits of the keyboard and piano writing. The four-movement work, written in 1817–18 and lasting 52 minutes in Sokolov’s interpretation, was completed at a time of great emotional turmoil in the composer’s life. Sokolov’s approach to the piece counterbalances its heroic striving with rare glimpses into the score’s underlying lyricism and intense poetic spirit. In its review of Sokolov’s Salzburg recital, Der Tagespiegel noted that the pianist “possesses not only a superior technique and a more refined sense of style than others, but also a whole added dimension. In the last movement of the ‘Hammerklavier’ one usually hears the conversation of different voices, but he also creates the space in which that dialogue is taking place.”

Sokolov’s Schubert was recorded live at Warsaw’s Philharmonic Concert Hall in May 2013. It opens with the Four Impromptus D899 and is crowned by readings of the Three Piano Pieces D946, sublime works completed not long before the composer’s death in 1828.

"With a piano giant like Sokolov, it’s hard to keep enthusiasm bottled." - The Times, January 2015

• 180g Vinyl
• 3LP
• Download Card
• Gatefold Jacket

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
4 Impromptus, Op. 90

1. No. 1 in C minor - Allegro molto moderato
2. No. 2 in E Flat Major - Allegro
3. No. 3 in G Flat Major - Andante
4. No. 4 in A Flat Major - Allegretto
Three Klavierstucke
5. No. 1 in E Flat minor - Allegro asai
6. No. 2 in E Flat - Allegretto
7. No. 3 in C - Allegro

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Piano Sonata No. 29 in B flat, Op. 106 "Hammerklavier"

8. Allegro
9. Scherzo (Assai vivace - Presto - Prestissimo - Tempo I)
10. Adagio sostenuto
11. Largo - Allegro risoluto

Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683-1764)
Premier livre de pieces de clavecin Suite in D minor-Major

12. Les tendres plaintes
13. Les tourbillons
14. Les cyclopes
15. La follette
Nouvelles suites de pieces de clavecin Suite in G Major
16. Les sauvages

Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
17. Intermezzi Op. 117 in B Flat minor, No. 2

Customers Also Like