J Jazz: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan Volume 2 1969-1983 3LP

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Modern Jazz From Japan On 3LP!
Specially Chosen Tracks Span 25 Years Of Japanese Musical Progression & Invention!

Following the sell-out success of the landmark compilation J Jazz: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan 1969-1984, BBE Records is thrilled to present another exploration into the very finest Japanese modern jazz.

J Jazz 2 builds on the solid foundation of the first compilation and sees co-compilers Tony Higgins and Mike Peden once again pick choice sections from their own record collections. They present a deep dive into an intoxicating and beguiling range of styles: from cinematic roaring big-band (Little G by Nobuo Hara) and sparse minimal acoustic funk (Teru Teru Bozo by Teru Sakomoto), to deep spiritual modal epics (Dragon Dance by Makoto Terashita and Harold Land) and funk fusion (Mother of the Future by Electro Keyboard Orchestra). J Jazz 2 delivers more astonishing high quality jazz that will appeal to the old school hard-core jazz head as much as those digging the current sounds of the current vibrant jazz explosion in the UK and USA.

The specially chosen tracks on J Jazz Volume 2 span across 25 years of Japanese musical progression and invention. From the elegiac stark beauty of Serenade To A Dimly Lit Street and the modal vortex of Daguri, to the fierce post-bop freedom of Bull Trout and the mid-tempo bossa lilt of Vietnam, there is enough here to satisfy the most curious and demanding jazz fan seeking something extra special.


  • 3LP
  • Gatefold jacket
  • OBI Strip
  • Compiled by Tony Higgins & Mike Peden
  • Made in the E.U.


LP 1

Side A:
  1. Makoto Terashita Meets Harold Land - Dragon Dance
  2. Kohsuke Mine Quintet - Daguri
Side B:
  1. Mabumi Yamaguchi Quartet - Distant Thunder
  2. Hideto Sasaki - Toshiyuki Sekine Quartet +1 - Stop Over

LP 2

Side C:
  1. Miyasaka + 5 - Animals Garden
  2. George Kawaguchi Big Four - Vietnam
  3. Hiroshi Matsumoto / Hideo Ichikawa Quartet - Serenade To A Dimly Lit Street
Side D:
  1. Electro Keyboard Orchestra - Mother Of The Future
  2. Teru Sakamoto Trio - Teru-Teru Bozu (Black Keys)
  3. Toshiyuki Miyama & The New Herd With Masahiko Sato - Fallout

LP 3

Side E:
  1. Makoto Terashita - Dai Hosaku (Great Harvest)
  2. Takashi Miyasaka Quintet - Straight Road
Side F:
  1. Nobuo Hara And Sharps & Flats - Little Giant
  2. Akira Miyazawa - Brown Trout

Customers Also Like