J Jazz: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan Volume 4 - The Nippon Columbia Label 1968-1981 180g 3LP

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

A Deep Dive into the Modern Jazz Catalogue of Nippon Columbia on 180g 3LP!
Covers a Crucial Period of Musical Creativity & Innovation!
Featuring Takeo Moriyama, Hiromasa Suzuki, Masahiko Satoh & More!

With J Jazz Volume 4, the BBE J Jazz Bullet Train continues its journey traversing the expansive landscape of modern Japanese jazz.

Volume 4 is the latest in the universally praised compilation series exploring the best, rarest and most innovative jazz to emerge from the Far East. Please take your seats for a first-class ticket to J Jazz central. This latest station stop off is with the famed Nippon Columbia label, one of the biggest labels in Japan, whose jazz output embraces every possible style imaginable. Focusing on the key years 1968-1981, J Jazz Volume 4 sees compilers Tony Higgins and Mike Peden dig even deeper into their record collections and pull out tracks that span styles ranging from solo to big band, jazz classical interpretations and heavy jazz rock, to febrile post-bop, white hot samba fusion, and modal psychedelic wig-outs.

J Jazz Volume 4 features icons such as drum master Takeo Moriyama, keyboard magi Hiromasa Suzuki and Masahiko Satoh, and guitar wizards Kazumi Watanabe and Kiyoshi Sugimoto, alongside big band maestros and innovators Nobuo Hara and his Sharps and Flats, and Toshiyuki Miyama's New Herd. Thunderous basslines nestle alongside glistening runs of electric piano, bubbling synths and air-tight drumming as the heavy psychedelic modal blues of Jiro Inagaki flows with the infectious samba grooves of Takashi Mizuhashi featuring Herbie Hancock, and Mikio Masuda's driving keyboard rhythms brings the heat to an incendiary dancefloor zone.

With 7,000 words of extensive sleeve notes, J Jazz Vol 4 comes in a triple 180g vinyl set inside a deluxe gatefold sleeve with obi strip plus a 4 page insert. Mastered at the Grammy-nominated Carvery Studio by Frank Merritt, this latest collection is a worthy successor to the preceding three volumes that have set the bar so high. J Jazz is curated for BBE Music by Tony Higgins and Mike Peden.


  • 180g Vinyl
  • 3LP
  • Curated by Tony Higgins & Mike Peden
  • Sourced from the Master Tapes
  • Mastered by Frank Merritt at the Carvery Studio
  • Deluxe Gatefold Sleeve with OBI Strip
  • 4-Page Insert
  • Extensive Sleeve Notes
  • Made in Germany


LP 1

Side A:
  1. Exchange – Takeo Moriyama
  2. The Ground For Peace – Jiro Inagaki & His Soul Media
Side B:
  1. Chakkiri-Bushi – Nobuo Hara & His Sharps & Flats, Hozan Yamamoto
  2. Trial Road – Tomoki Takahashi
  3. A Muddy Muffin – Masahiko Satoh

LP 2

Side C:
  1. Samba De Negrito – Takashi Mizuhashi & Herbie Hancock
  2. Scramble – Hiromasa Suzuki
Side D:
  1. Prelude To The Afternoon Of A Faun – Nobuo Hara & His Sharps & Flats
  2. Toppu – Shigeharu Mukai

LP 3

Side E:
  1. Ogi Denju-shiki – Toshiyuki Miyama & His New Herd
  2. Jones Street – Kiyoshi Sugimoto
  3. Mickey's Samba – Mikio Masuda
Side F:
  1. By The Red Stream – Hiromasa Suzuki, Jiro Inagaki & His Big Soul Media
  2. Kaleidoscope (Edit) – Mickie Yoshino & Kazumi Watanabe

Customers Also Like