J Jazz: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan Volume 3 3LP

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Modern Jazz From Japan On 3LP!
Mastered At GRAMMY-Nominated Carvery Studio In London!

BBE Music presents J Jazz Volume 3, the latest in its definitive compilation series exploring the finest modern jazz from Japan. Since the first volume in February 2018, the J Jazz compilation series has showcased some of the most creative, inspired and sought-after jazz recorded in Japan during a golden period spanning the 1960s to the 1980s.

Illustrating the richness and versatility of the composers and musicians on this collection, the music spans a wide yet coherent range of styles: samba, funk fusion, modal, spiritual, post-bop and bossa all combine to present an aural portrait of a jazz scene that was constantly moving and shifting its multiple musical centers of gravity.

Mastered at the Grammy-nominated Carvery studio in London, many of the tracks featured are reissued for the first time, including mega-rare private press cuts from the Yasuhiro Kohno Trio, Masaru Imada Trio, and Hideyasu Terakawa Quartet. There's heavy post modal bop by J Jazz legends Kohsuke Mine and Koichi Matsukaze; samba heat from Tatsuya Nakamura, Hideo Shiraki and Seiichi Nakamura; and funky dance floor energy by Hiroshi Murakami, Ryojiro Furusawa Quartet and Shigeharu Mukai.

Selected albums from which the tracks are drawn will be reissued in full as part of the acclaimed BBE Music J Jazz Masterclass Series. Released as a deluxe, heavyweight x3 vinyl set in a gatefold sleeve with obi strip and insert, the collection comes with extensive artist biographies and track information.

J Jazz is conceived, compiled and annotated by Tony Higgins and Mike Peden for BBE Music.

The third in BBE Music's acclaimed "J Jazz" compilation series. Rare and private press Japanese jazz sounds, never before reissued. Compiled and presented by Tony Higgins and Mike Peden, featuring photogaphy from Philip Arniell (Tokyo Jazz Joints).

On the third release from its ongoing reissue series, the BBE label continues to excavate the hidden wonders of Japan's post-WWII jazz scene.
-Dean Van Nguyen, Pitchfork, Rated 8.0


  • 3LP
  • Mastered At Carvery Studio, London
  • Deluxe, Heavyweight Packaging
  • Many Tracks Reissued For 1st Time
  • Mega-Rare Press Cuts
  • Gatefold Sleeve
  • OBI Strip
  • Insert
  • Extensive Artist Biographies & Track Information
  • Photography From Phillip Arniell (Tokyo Jazz Joints)
  • Made in the EU


LP 1

Side A:
  1. Song Of Island - Yasuhiro Kohno Trio + One
  2. Cumulonimbus - Shigeharu Mukai
Side B:
  1. Morning Tide - Kohsuke Mine
  2. Black Nile - Hideyasu Terakawa Quartet feat. Hiroshi Fujii

LP 2

Side C:
  1. Song For Hope - Aki Takase Trio
  2. Honey Sanba - Katsuyuki Itakura Trio
  3. Kirisame - Ryusei Tomoyose Quartet
Side D:
  1. Kemo Sabe - Masao Nakajima Quartet
  2. Phoebus - Hiroshi Murakami & Dancing Sphinx
  3. Planets - Masaru Imada Trio + 1

LP 3

Side E:
  1. ¼ Samba II - Tatsuya Nakamura
  2. Cumorah - Eiji Nakayama
Side F:
  1. Acoustic Chicken - Koichi Matsukaze Trio feat. Ryojiro Furusawa

Customers Also Like