Genre: R&B
Label: Polydor
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


James Brown Motherlode 2LP

James Brown

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Classic James Brown Collection Reissued On Double LP!
Uncut Funk From Deep In The JB Vault!
Complete Collection On Vinyl For The First Time!

Thirty years into forging his unique groove in music, James Brown was inducted as a charter member of the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame in 1986. He was then enjoying a double renaissance: riding high on the charts with "Living In America," his biggest hit in a decade; while on the streets his back catalogue was being rediscovered, sampled and plundered by an international hotbed of DJs, rappers, hip-hoppers and new wave funksters. Honoring Brown's re-invigoration, Polydor released the collection In The Jungle Groove that year. Two years later, with samples of Brown's released classics still thick in the air, came a blast of funk from deep in the vault: Motherlode, released in 1988 with 11 rare and previously unreleased tracks on CD and 10 tracks on a single vinyl LP. Two of the collection's track debuts were incendiary live cuts, "Say It Loud (Say It Live)", an outtake from the Sex Machine album recorded in Brown's hometown of Augusta, Georgia, and, leading off the LP, "There It Is", a knockout performance from a 1972 show that otherwise did not see the light of day for decades. "Since You Been Gone", a duet with Bobby Byrd, was an update of their cut "Just Won't Do Right" from 1956 featuring the young J.B.'s with Bootsy Collins. Two deep-funk instrumentals were also featured, one titled "Funk Bomb", and another so buried in the Godfather's vault it never received a title.

Three rarities on Motherlode's original CD release were new in their own way: "She's the One", a cover of an old Hank Ballard & the Midnighters single, had just been issued as a single in the U.K., where it cracked the British pop chart's Top 50; "People Get Up and Drive Your Funky Soul", originally issued in 1973 as a 3:40 LP cut on the soundtrack to Slaughter's Big Rip-Off, was remixed and extended to nine minutes; and "I Got Ants In My Pants", previously issued as a two-part single in 1972, was remixed and issued in full for the first time on the CD, but not included on Motherlode's original vinyl LP release.

Motherlode's complete, expanded 13-track edition first debuted on CD in 2003, adding "You've Changed", recorded in Atlanta with the classic James Brown Orchestra in April 1969, and "Bodyheat (Alternate Mix)", with the latter-day J.B.'s in 1976. Motherlode's liner notes are by the late Cliff White, the preeminent journalist internationally recognized for his coverage of the Godfather of Soul. His original notes have been updated for the new 2LP set.

"The '88 release and its 2003 CD counterpart (the tracklist of which is being replicated here) is a dance party waiting to get started. This is Brown and his many cohorts at their finest, with sexy grooves to spare and further evidence of their prowess as a live act. The version of 'Say It Loud (I'm Black & I'm Proud)' captured at the Bell Auditorium in Augusta, Georgia in 1969 is marked with coiled fury and joyous explosiveness that the Black community sorely needed in the year since MLK's assassination. As Brown and co., their gloves were off and there were ants in their pants. Dancing away the heartbreak in defiance of the Woodstock generation and the powers that be was the only way to survive. These songs were the instruction manual for joyous revolution."- Paste Magazine

• Double LP
• Complete collection on vinyl for the first time
• Gatefold jacket
• Updated original liner notes by Cliff White

• Double LP
• Complete collection on vinyl for the first time
• Gatefold jacket

Side 1:

1. There It Is (Live)
2. She’s The One
3. Since You Been Gone (Duet W/Bobby Byrd)
4. Untitled Instrumental
5. Say It Loud (Say It Live)
Side 2:
1. Can I Get Some Help
2. You Got To Have A Mother For Me
3. Funk Bomb (Instrumental)
Side 3:
1. Baby Here I Come
2. People Get Up And Drive Your Funky Soul (Remix)
3. I Got Ants in My Pants (And I Want To Dance) (Remix)
Side 4:
1. You've Changed
2. Bodyheat (Alternate Mix)

Sides 1 and 2, and Side 3 tracks 1 & 2 first issued on vinyl in 1988. All other tracks are on vinyl for the first time.

Customers Also Like