Genre: Jazz
Label: Chesky


Jazz Side Of The Moon The Music Of Pink Floyd Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo SACD

Ari Hoenig

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Sam Yahel, Ari Hoenig, Mike Moreno and Seamus Blake perform jazz interpretations of seven Pink Floyd selections. Recorded September 11 & 12th, 2007 at St. Peter's Episcopal Church, NYC.

Jazz Side of the Moon is a triumphant statement of how far jazz has come both as an interpretative art and as a paradigm of recording purity. In approaching the challenge of creating an audiophile recording project that evoked the modern jazz connections to an iconic popular recording, while doing justice in real time to the trend-setting production values achieved by Pink Floyd and producer Alan Parsons producer-straw boss Sam Yahel had to know that the possibilities for ignominious treacle were omnipresent.

However, the degree to which Hammond organist Sam Yahel and his hand-picked collaborators evoke both the textural-thematic spirit of the original arrangements and sonic effects, while maintaining the overall conceptual arc and metaphysical implications of Pink Floyd's suite of songs, is remarkably powerful both as a jazz combo statement and as a purist, bare-bones audiophile recording - all the while reasserting the grace, power and musical nuance of the original materials.

"Sam Yahel is clearly one of the most promising new organists on the New York City and international scene..." - Michael G. Nascos, Jazziz

"Ari Hoenig is a magician!" - Batteur Magazine

"(Mike Moreno) is a versatile and increasingly prominent guitarist..." - The New York Times

"Seamus Blake is gaining increasing recognition as one of the finest and most creative young players emerging in jazz." - All About Jazz

• Super Audio CD
• SACD Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!

Sam Yahel, Hammond B-3 organ
Mike Moreno, electric & acoustic guitars
Ari Hoenig, drums
Seamus Blake, tenor saxophone

1. Breathe
2. Part 1: On The Run
3. Time
4. Any Colour You Like
5. The Great Gig In the Sky
6. Money
7. Us And Them
8. Brain Damage
9. Part 2: On The Run

Customers Also Like