Jeff Tweedy Chelsea Walls 2LP

Jeff Tweedy

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Soundtrack To Ethan Hawke's 2001 Film On Double LP!
Features Original Music By Jeff Tweedy Of Wilco!
Includes Two Previously Unreleased Bonus Tracks!

The same year of his Oscar®-nominated performance in Training Day, Ethan Hawke made his full-length film directorial debut with Chelsea Walls (starring Kris Kristofferson, Uma Thurman, Vincent D'Onofrio, Robert Sean Leonard, and more). A fan of Wilco, Hawke approached Jeff Tweedy about scoring the film, and Tweedy agreed.

Around this time, Tweedy had collaborated with musician and producer Jim O'Rourke (Sonic Youth, Stereolab) for a special live performance. As fate would have it, O'Rourke had been working with Glenn Kotche, and introduced the two, which would lay the groundwork for the trio's work together on the debut album by their band, Loose Fur. Tweedy also asked Kotche to work with him on an improvised soundtrack to the movie he had agreed to score. The relationships moved past Loose Fur and the Chelsea Walls soundtrack. Wilco was in the process of a creative sea change, the result of which would be the modern-day masterpiece, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. Kotche joined Wilco and O'Rourke mixed Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.

The soundtrack to Chelsea Walls featured improvised instrumentals by Tweedy and Kotche, as well as vocal performances from the film's Robert Sean Leonard (whom Hawke met when they both worked on the film Dead Poet's Society), Steve Zahn (Reality Bites, That Thing You Do!), jazz legend "Little" Jimmy Scott, plus contributions from Billy Bragg, and Wilco themselves.

Two decades later, this influential soundtrack returns, not only with two previously unissued bonus tracks, but for the first time as a double-vinyl LP. The bonus tracks include Leonard's performance of Wilco's "Promising" previously only available in the film, and an extended version of Tweedy & Kotche's "Finale." The packaging contains new photos, new and original liners from Hawke, a remembrance from Kotche, and an interview between Tweedy and Grammy®-winning set producer Cheryl Pawelski.

Chelsea Walls is a pivotal piece in the creative development of Tweedy and Wilco as they emerged into one of the most important bands of our time. Critically, it revisits the creative burst that would lead to one of the first true masterpieces of the 21st century in Yankee Hotel Foxtrot.


  • Double LP
  • First Time on Vinyl
  • Remastered
  • 2 Previously Unissued Bonus Tracks
  • Score performed by Jeff Tweedy & Glenn Kotche
  • New Photos
  • New & Original Liners by director Ethan Hawke
  • Remembrance from Glenn Kotche
  • Interview between Jeff Tweedy & Cheryl Pawelski
  • Expanded packaging with rare photos
  • Made in USA


Side One:

  1. Opening Titles
  2. Red Elevator
  3. Promising - Wilco

Side Two:

  1. Frank's Dream
  2. When The Roses Bloom Again - Billy Bragg & Wilco
  3. Jealous Guy - Jimmy Scott

Side Three:

  1. The Wallman
  2. The Lonely 1 - Robert Sean Leonard & Steve Zahn
  3. Hello, Are You There?
  4. Softly And Tenderly Jesus Is Calling - Robert Sean Leonard
  5. Finale

Side Four

  1. End Credits
  2. Finale (Extended) [Bonus Track]
  3. Promising - Robert Sean Leonard [Bonus Track]

Customers Also Like