Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WEA


Jethro Tull A Passion Play 2CD & 2DVD

Jethro Tull

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Features Original Album and Infamous "Chateau Disaster" Recordings Mixed to 5.1 Surround and Stereo! Includes 80-Page Book!

"A Passion Play" is the sixth studio album by Jethro Tull, released in 1973. Like its predecessor, Thick as a Brick (1972), it is a concept album with the theme being the journey of one man in the afterlife. On release it had chart success around the world hitting no. 1 in the US & no. 13 in the UK.

A Passion Play is Jethro Tull’s most overtly Progressive and conceptual release, featuring a complex poetic narrative framed by the most adventurous music of the band’s career. The album offers dazzling virtuoso instrumental passages, evocative synthesizer sequences, and fuses Folk, Jazz and Rock influences in a strikingly unique, wholly Jethro Tull way.

Early in 1968, a group of young British musicians, born from the ashes of various failed regional bands gathered together in hunger, destitution and modest optimism in Luton, North of London. With a common love of Blues and an appreciation, between them, of various other music forms, they started to win over a small but enthusiastic audience in the various pubs and clubs of Southern England. The breakthrough came when they were offered the Thursday night residency at London's famous Marquee Club in Wardour Street, Soho.

On this beautiful expanded case-bound book edition, there is the original album and earlier Chateau d'Herouville Sessions mixed to 5.1 surround sound and stereo by Steven Wilson.

"...a dazzling mix of old English folk and classical material, reshaped in electric rock terms. The band is at its peak form, sustaining the tension and anticipation of this album-length piece across 45 minutes..." -Bruce Eder,

• 2 CD
• 2 DVD
• 80-page book detailing the album, the band's 1973 tour and the Chateau recordings
• New Steven Wilson mixes (stereo and 5.1), alongside Steven Wilson mixes of the infamous "Chateau Disaster" recordings that preceded the album
• 24/96 flat transfer of the original master
• DVDs NTSC: Aspect Ratio 16:9 & 4:3
• Region 0 (All Regions)

CD 1 - A Passion Play (New Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)

1. Lifebeats/Prelude
2. The Silver Cord
3. Re-Assuring Tune
4. Memory Bank
5. Best Friends
6. Critique Oblique
7. Forest Dance #1
8. The Story Of The Hare Who Lost His Spectacles
9. Forest Dance #2
10. The Foot Of Our Stairs
11. Overseer Overture
12. Flight From Lucifer
13. 10:08 To Paddington
14. Magus Perde
15. Epilogue

CD 2 - The Chateau d’Herouville Sessions (New Steven Wilson Stereo Mix)
1. The Big Top
2. Scenario
3. Audition
4. Skating Away On The Thin Ice Of The New Day
5. Sailor
6. No Rehearsal
7. Left Right
8. Only Solitaire
9. Critique Oblique (Part I)
10. Critique Oblique (Part II)
11. Animelee (1st Dance)
12. Animelee (2nd Dance)
13. Law Of The Bungle (Part I)
14. Tiger Toon
15. Law Of The Bungle (Part II)

DVD 1 (Audio & Video)
Contains A Passion Play mixed to DTS 96/24 5.1 Surround, Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 Surround and 96/24 Stereo PCM. A flat transfer from the original master at 96/24 PCM and video clips of 'The Story Of The Hare Who Lost His Spectacles' and 'intro' and 'outro' film footage used in the PP tour of 1973.

DVD 2 (Audio)
Contains The Chateau d’Herouville Sessions mixed to DTS 96/24 5.1 Surround, Dolby Digital AC3 5.1 Surround and 96/24 Stereo PCM.

Customers Also Like