Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WEA


Jethro Tull War Child 2CD & 2DVD

Jethro Tull

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
2CD & 2DVD 40th Anniversary Theatre Edition!
Includes Rare Video Footage and 80-Page Booklet!
Album Expanded with Unreleased Tracks and Orchestral Pieces!

In 1974, Jethro Tull announced plans for WarChild, a multi-faceted project that was to encompass a feature-length film, a soundtrack album, as well a new album from the band. In October of that year, Tull released a 10-song album that would climb to #2 in the U.S. and the top 15 in the U.K., but the film and accompanying soundtrack were shelved. To commemorate the 40-year anniversary of this ambitious experiment, Parlophone will revisit WarChild.

Originally released in 1974, WarChild features one of the group’s most prolific lineups and includes Ian Anderson, Martin Barre, John Evans, Jeffrey Hammond-Hammond and Barrie Barlow. Unlike its predecessors – Thick As A Brick and A Passion Play – which featured 40-odd minutes of continuous music, WarChild marked a return to songs of a more conventional length, including the FM-radio staple, “Bungle In The Jungle.” The new Theatre Edition unearths a trio of unreleased recordings: “Tomorrow Was Today,” “Good Godmother,” and a different arrangement of “WarChild” recorded after the version on the final album.

Fans intrigued by the appearance of “WarChild Waltz” on the 2002 reissue of WarChild will finally get the chance to hear the rest of the mostly orchestral music the band recorded for the soundtrack album. About 30 minutes was recorded during sessions in 1973 and 1974. Soon after, the music was consigned to the archives for 40 years – until now.

• 2CD
• 2DVD
• Original album and bonus tracks (three previously unreleased), remixed in 5.1 surround and stereo by Steven Wilson
• 10 orchestral pieces (nine previously unreleased) written for the film’s soundtrack, 4 of which are remixed in 5.1 surround and stereo by Steven Wilson
• Flat transfers of the original LP mix at 96/24, and the quadrophonic version (with 2 bonus tracks) in 4.0
• “The Third Hoorah” promo footage, and footage from a January 1974 photo session/press conference where the WarChild project was announced
• An 80-page booklet featuring an extensive article by Martin Webb on the preparation and recording of the album and on the associated film project, a track by track annotation by Ian Anderson, a recording and touring chronology from November 1973 to April 1975, memories of 15 years on the road with Jethro Tull by the band's electronics wizard David Morris, Don Needham talking to Bridget Procter and Kathy Thulborn of the touring string quartet, film script synopsis excerpts, a back cover who's-who, and many rare and previously unseen photographs
• Region 0

CD 1 - WarChild - A new Steven Wilson stereo remix:

1. War Child
2. Queen and Country
3. Ladies
4. Back-Door Angels
5. Sealion
6. Skating Away on the Thin Ice of the New Day
7. Bungle in the Jungle
8. Only Solitaire
9. The Third Hoorah
10. Two Fingers

CD 2 - The Second Act: Associated Recordings - Tracks 1-15 A new Steven Wilson stereo remix / Tracks 16-21 Mixed to stereo in 1974 by Robin Black:
1. Paradise Steakhouse
2. Saturation
3. Good Godmother
4. Sealion II
5. Quartet
6. WarChild II
7. Tomorrow Was Today
8. Glory Row
9. March, The Mad Scientist
10. Rainbow Blues
11. Pan Dance
WarChild Orchestral Recordings
12. The Orchestral WarChild Theme
13. The Third Hoorah
14. Mime Sequence
15. Field Dance
16. Waltz Of The Angels
17. The Beach (Part I)
18. The Beach (Part II)
19. Waltz Of The Angels
20. The Beach
21. Field Dance

DVD 1 - Audio & Video:
Contains: WarChild remixed in 5.1 surround and presented in DTS 96/24 and AC3 Dolby Digital, and 96/24 LPCM stereo. A flat transfer from the original 1974 LP master in 96/24 LPCM stereo. A flat transfer of the original 1974 Quad LP (with additionally Glory Row & March, The Mad Scientist) in DTS 96/24 5.1 (4.0) and AC3 Dolby Digital surround sound. Video clips of a Montreux photosession and press conference on January 11th, 1974, and The Third Hoorah promo footage with remixed stereo audio.

DVD 2 - Audio:
Contains: An additional eleven group recordings from the WarChild sessions and later, including 3 previously unreleased tracks, and 4 orchestral recordings from the WarChild sessions, remixed in 5.1 surround and presented in DTS 96/24 and AC3 Dolby Digital, and 96/24 LPCM stereo. Six additional orchestral recordings (five previously unreleased) mixed by Robin Black in 1974, in 96/24 LPCM stereo.

Customers Also Like