Jim Ferguson Deep Summer Music Hybrid Stereo SACD

Jim Ferguson

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Intimate Jazz Vocals On Hybrid SACD!

Jim Ferguson stands out as a world-class bassist who only recently began featuring his own vocals. To wear both hats with equal skill and self-assurance puts you in a small club whose members are mostly household names. Louis Armstrong, Jack Teagarden, Nat Cole, Chet Baker, Shirley Horn, John Pizzarelli, Diana Krall - that's the kind of bird we're talking about here, and Jim Ferguson clearly belongs in their rarefied company.

This outstanding bass player made his début as a singer with the 1999 album Not Just Another Pretty Bass. With 2001's Deep Summer Music he joined the small, select group of new jazz vocalists. His warm-toned, light tenor and perfect diction and delivery assure a stunning version of "Then I'll Be Tired Of You", "When Your Lover Has Gone" and other pieces. The accompaniment consists of piano, bass and drums, and also the tenor sax of Chris Potter, who lends beautiful instrumental color to the singing.


  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Made in the Netherlands


Jim Ferguson vocals, bass
Chris Potter tenor saxophone
Stefan Karlsson piano
Jim White drums


  1. Deep Summer Music
  2. What's A Guy Supposed To Do?
  3. I'll Only Miss Her When I Think Of Her
  4. Wait Till You See Her
  5. There'll Be Other Times
  6. Walkin' The Dog
  7. Slow Hot Wind
  8. The Night We Called It A Day
  9. Come Home To Red
  10. Then I'll Be Tired Of You
  11. When The Night Is Done
  12. Nobody Home
  13. When Your Lover Has Gone
  14. In The Wee Small Hours Of The Morning

Customers Also Like