Genre: Blues
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Joe Bonamassa An Acoustic Evening At the Vienna Opera House 180g 3LP

Joe Bonamassa

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Triple Vinyl LP Reissue of Live 2013 Album!

Guitarist Joe Bonamassa performed a 7-date acoustic tour including the The Vienna Opera House as one of the venues. That performance is presented here on 180g Vinyl 3LP.

"... this is an acoustic live album. That certainly got my interest – how would his great blues-rock songs sound when performed acoustically rather than on his usual electric guitar...

"The tour was apparently originally envisaged as a one-man show with just Joe Bonamassa playing various guitars, but his long time producer Kevin Shirley suggested changing to having a band, which in my opinion was an excellent choice. The use of the fiddles in particular works superbly well as they do an effective job of replacing some of the sounds you’d normally get from an electric guitar. The percussion too adds a lot to the music. It’s something you take for granted usually but when you strip a song down to a simple acoustic form then each instrument’s contribution becomes far more noticeable and important.

"With an acoustic show the guitar solos tend to be less frequent and shorter to reflect the lack of potential once you take away the sustain and the effects that are so often used with an electric guitar to hold long notes, add distortion or manipulate the sound in other ways, so there are less breaks for Joe Bonamassa’s voice...

"This is an excellent album. Given a choice between an acoustic blues or blues-rock album and one with electric guitars I’d normally go for the electric one, but I’m very glad I’ve listened to this acoustic album as it really is such a good listen. Rating: 9.5/10"
- planetmosh review

• Triple LP
• 180g Vinyl
• Gatefold jacket
• Includes limited time download card

Joe Bonamassa, guitar, vocals
Gerry O'Connor, Irish fiddle, mandolin, banjo
Mats Wester, nyckelharpa
Lenny Castro, percussion
Arian Schierbaum, celeste, accordion, toy piano

LP 1
Side A:

1. Arrival
2. Palm Trees, Helicopters and Gasoline
3. Jelly Roll
4. Dust Bowl
5. Around the Bend
Side B:
6. Slow Train
7. Athens to Athens
8. From the Valley

LP 2
Side C:

9. the Ballad of John Henry
10. Dislocated Boy
11. Driving Towards the Daylight
Side D:
12. High Water Everywhere
13. Jockey Full of Bourbon
14. Richmond

LP 3
Side E:

15. Stones In My Passway
16. Ball Peen Hammer
17. Black Lung Heartache
18. Mountain Time
Side F:
19. Woke Up Dreaming
20. Sloe Gin
21. Seagull

Customers Also Like