Genre: Folk


John Moriarty The Duo Collector's Edition MQD Gold CD

John Moriarty

$29.99 $39.99
(You save $10.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Hand-Made 24K Gold MQD!
Hand-Numbered Collector's Items!

This is a great album to cue up and then just let it roll. The span of decades, styles and composers creates a listening experience that doesn't flag and is easy to enjoy.

In Your Own Sweet Way is a beautiful, swinging Dave Brubeck classic that Brubeck himself re-released in a 2006 retrospective. John Moriarty interprets the melody with a syncopated reading and a lot of energy.

Don't Know Why comes in with the familiar melody floating above some interpretive harmony. Moriarty continues in a musical dialog with the bass, giving this modern standard a new, respectful, and enjoyable interpretation.

Billy Joel's Piano Man gets a rolling rhythm and staccato interpretation that finds a new feel for this hit.

On Green Dolphin Street, from a mid-20th-century movie of the same name, starts with the piano melody intertwined with lines from the string bass. Then Moriarty drops into a brisk, gently swinging reading of this beautiful, timeless composition.

About MQD Gold CDs:
These are collector's items. The MQDs (Master Quality Discs) are hand made in the Blue Coast studio using 24k Gold discs of the highest quality. Sonically, you won't find a better sounding disc. Blue Coast makes them one at a time, on order, and directly from the masters in their studio. All discs are checked for errors, hand written and numbered. There is no artwork for the cover. They arrive in a white digi pack with gold MQD logo on front. All titles look alike except for the writing on the discs themselves and the avery label on the back with song titles.

Note: Additional images ares sample package only and do not show actual tracklist for this title.


  • Hand-Numbered Collector's Item
  • Hand-made
  • MQD
  • Collector's Edition 24k Gold CD
  • Recorded, mixed & mastered by Cookie Marenco
  • Housed in plain white packaging


John Moriarty piano
Mark Williams bass


  1. In Your Own Sweet Way
  2. Coming Home
  3. I Can't Get Started
  4. Giant Steps
  5. Stolen Moments
  6. Don't Know Why
  7. Make Me A Memory (Sad Samba)
  8. Piano Man
  9. Hotel California
  10. On Green Dolphin Street
  11. The Way It Is
  12. How High The Moon
  13. Pink Panther
  14. Song For My Father
  15. The Charlie Brown Theme
  16. Cast Your Fate To The Wind

Customers Also Like