Genre: Folk
Label: Oh Boy
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Bonnie Raitt Steve Goodman
Format: 33RPM,


John Prine John Prine Live 2LP

John Prine

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

First Vinyl Reissue Since 1988 On Double LP!

John Prine Live was taped mostly during a three-day stint at The Coach House in San Juan Capistrano, California. It was released in 1988 on Oh Boy Records, Prine's own independent label. As he explained to David Fricke in 1993, Oh Boy needed product: "We didn't have another artist to put out. The idea was to have me and my guitar, telling stories and doing songs - and buying me some time until I could get into the studio again."

The album's version of "Angel From Montgomery" was recorded at an all-star memorial concert for Steve Goodman (who died of leukemia in 1984) held in Chicago in January 1985 and released later that year as Tribute To Steve Goodman. Prine is joined by Bonnie Raitt (who recorded "Angel From Montgomery" on her 1974 Streetlights album) and guitarist David Bromberg. The version of "Souvenirs" is taken from a 1970s performance by Prine and Goodman from the TV show Austin City Limits.

With years of experience playing club dates, John Prine has evolved into a very entertaining live performer, and this album presents him at his intimate best, telling funny stories and performing his most impressive material in unadorned arrangements.


  • Double LP
  • First vinyl reissue since 1988
  • Pressed for vinyl at United Record Pressing


Side One:

  1. Come Back To Us Barbara Lewis Hare Krishna Beauregard
  2. Six O'Clock News
  3. The Oldest Baby In The World
  4. Angel From Montgomery

Side Two:

  1. Grandpa Was a Carpenter
  2. Blue Umbrella
  3. Fish And Whistle
  4. Sabu Visits The Twin Cities Alone
  5. Living In The Future

Side Three:

  1. Illegal Smile
  2. Mexican Home
  3. Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness
  4. The Accident (Things Could Be Worse)
  5. Sam Stone

Side Four:

  1. Souvenirs
  2. Aw Heck
  3. Donald And Lydia
  4. That's The Way That The World Goes Round
  5. Hello In There

Customers Also Like