Genre: Blues
Label: Friday Music
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Johnny Winter Live Bootleg Series Vol. 1 180g 2LP

Johnny Winter

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Audiophile Vinyl Mastered by Friday Music's Joe Reagoso From Original Master Tapes!

Johnny Winter, the award winning blues rock guitarist and vocalist has given Friday Music the keys to over four decades of his archived live & unreleased recordings. This critically acclaimed series is now being presented on 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl!

Kicking things off is the ultra-rare three decade old tour performance 2 LP set of some of his most revered classics like “ Jumpin’ Jack Flash” “ Johnny B. Goode” as well as a bonus live recording of the Stones classic “ It’s All Over Now” A collection like this is a blues lovers and audiophiles dream! Enjoy.

All master recordings are owned and controlled by Johnny Winter and are compiled from the authorized Johnny Winter Music archives.

Johnny Winter, vocals & guitars
Jon Paris, bass & harmonica
Bobby T., drums

• Limited Edition
• 180g Audiophile Vinyl
• Mastered From Original Master Tapes
• Mastered by Joe Reagoso at Friday Music
• Double LP
• Bonus Track

1. Introduction
2. Johnny B. Goode
3. Messin’ With The Kid
4. Help Me
5. Hideaway
6. Come On In My Kitchen
7. Rollin’ and Tumblin’
8. Stranger
9. Jumping Jack Flash
10. Bony Maronie
11. Closing
Bonus Track:
12. It’s All Over Now

"Johnny Winter has been flattening audiences since he blew out of Texas like a white tornado in 1968. At the tail end of the blues revival when British blues rockers were co-opting America's only indigenous art form, Johnny staked his claim to the title of reigning blues guitar hero with blinding chops as hot as a jalapeno and authentic blues feel as deep, wide and muddy as the Rio Grande.

"Johnny's studio releases are an unparalleled record of the evolution of a blues master who has never stopped growing and perfecting his unique artistic vision of the music as a living, breathing entity meant to be expressed with spontaneity and unbounded enthusiasm in concert. To the everlasting gratitude of his fans, he has recorded a tremendous number of his shows, amassing an archive of forty plus years of musical treasures. They are now being carefully and painstakingly mastered and will be released over the next several years as the Live Bootleg Series on Friday Music.

"Volume One covers a collection of Johnny's vintage performances featuring bassist Jon Paris and drummer Bobby T, his power trio at the time playing with fiery abandon and thundering drive. From his signature hair-raising scream of “A Little Rock and Roll!” that introduces “Johnny B. Goode” to his stomping bonus track cover of Bobby Womack's R&B classic “It's All Over Now,” this musical journey is one of blues and rock, heart and soul. If there is any doubt that he is the premier interpreter of the Rolling Stones, one need only to listen to his cataclysmic version of “Jumpin' Jack Flash,” to dispel any rumors. It's no wonder Keith and Mick gladly handed him their “Silver Train” to cover. Any Texan worth his salt and tequila includes Freddie King's “Hide Away” in his repertoire, but Johnny knows it from the inside out and makes the well- worn classic his own. Ever conscious of his true roots in country blues, he delivers a Southern fried “Rollin' and Tumblin'” for the ages, stamping it as bonafide with his slashing slide guitar. Further demonstrating his versatility, his original, brooding “Stranger” makes a case for this overlooked aspect of his talent.

"As Johnny is quick to point out when anyone calls his recent resurgence as a “comeback,” “But I never went anywhere!” These priceless, previously unreleased live recordings only further serve to fill in the gaps in a legacy that continues to be added to with every passing contemporary show and recording."
- Dave Rubin - Guitar Player Magazine

Customers Also Like