Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: James Taylor
Format: 33RPM,


Joni Mitchell Shine 180g LP

Joni Mitchell

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

19th Studio Album On 180g Vinyl LP!
Mastered by Bernie Grundman & Pressed at RTI!
Features James Taylor Plus An Updated Version Of "Big Yellow Taxi"!

TAS Rated 3.5/5 Music, 3.5/5 Sonics in the July/August 2020 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Shine is Joni Mitchell's 19th studio album. Recorded in 2007 at Castle Oaks Productions by Dan Marnien, Shine was the first album of new songs since 1998's Taming The Tiger, featuring 10 new songs written by Joni, as well as a guest appearance by longtime friend James Taylor on the title track, and an updated version of her 1970 single "Big Yellow Taxi". Shine has been certified gold by the RIAA and won the Grammy® Award for Best Pop Instrumental Performance for "One Week Last Summer" in 2008.

"Dated production values and a sense that Joni felt shy about revisiting the star-maker machinery...dulled the patina of Shine. yet there's much to like, starting with the Grammy-winning opening cut, "One Week Last Summer," a brooding instrumental that helps set the tone for this somber collection of songs. Both "Hana" and "Night of the Iguana" deftly combine strong hooks with studio wizardry; other highlights includes the title track, which asks a higher power to shed light on a song list of dufuses. When called upon, the sidemen - including Brian Blade (drums), Bob Sheppard (saxophone), and Greg Leisz (pedal steel guitar) - make subtle but effective contributions. Sometimes a great artist makes an album that's merely good. With a record as intriguing as Shine, which is available for the first time on vinyl and benefits from a black noise floor and pristine sound, that's good enough. " - Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, July/August 2020


  • 180g Vinyl
  • First time on vinyl
  • Mastered from the original high-resolution sources by Bernie Grundman
  • Pressed at RTI
  • New recording of "Big Yellow Taxi"
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Made in USA


Side A:

  1. One Week Last Summer
  2. This Place
  3. If I Had A Heart
  4. Hana
  5. Bad Dreams

Side B:

  1. Big Yellow Taxi (2007)
  2. Night Of The Iguana
  3. Strong And Wrong
  4. Shine
  5. If

Customers Also Like