Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Katie Alice Greer Barbarism LP

Katie Alice Greer

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming December 16, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Debut Solo Album from Katie Alice Greer of Priests.

"Barbarism was written, performed, produced, and mixed entirely by Katie Alice Greer. It is profoundly singular, a graphic vision held completely by its individual perspective. It's also a boundless and lush record, teeming with bluffs, charms, and jolts. In Greer's words, 'making this record felt like I was making an entire world.' This world is unnerving, loud. It evokes the bustle and momentum of a cartoon factory, orchestral gears threatening to grab your sleeve and yank you into a grinding embrace. Sometimes the accumulation of sound feels like a weapon in Greer's hands, other times it's a malevolent, drowning force she's fighting against. In both cases, it's fortunate that Greer has developed such command of her voice: to breeze atop this roar; to attack it in kind; to grow so crisply vulnerable that the song, shamed, twists itself into beauty.

"Greer carefully sculpted each gesture on the record, contorting jangling guitars, sibilant hi-hats, even her own voice into thorny, unrecognizable corridors of sound. The creation of 'How Do I Know (Pring 5)' provides a helpful example of this painstaking, gratifying process: 'The wobbly guitar chord strums are me playing an acoustic through some tremolo,' explained Greer, 'overprocessing it through a lot of filters. The original 'beat' of the song was a clip of a voice memo I recorded, where I turned it up really loud and looped the 'bump' sound over and over.' Greer likens this approach to the ripping, recontextualizing, gluing/ungluing process of collage. This technique reaches an extreme on the song 'No Man,' which includes a substantial excerpt from Dorothea Lasky's poem 'Porn.' Greer described the poem as a kind of cypher for Barbarism: 'it describes such a specific and painful kind of self-imposed exile that is difficult to escape, and it's also funny.'

"There's a lyric in 'Fake Nostalgia' that references a sixty-year-old episode of The Twilight Zone. The show's plot is fundamental to the song, but the sheer mention of 'Twilight Zone' produces so much thought: the friction between different eras; Rod Serling's unironic seriousness; the idea that the fantastic can reveal truths too complicated for nonfiction. It makes the song hit harder without articulating any of those things; they just slide in when Greer sings the words 'twilight zone.' This is how the entire of Barbarism works - meaning is welded to every gesture. Again like a collage: there's no phrase - musical or lyrical - that doesn't drag behind it a chain of referents. A single descending string of notes might whisper Kate Bush, RZA, and Loveless without actually sounding like any of them. The same possibility is inherent in Barbarism's flags, its guitar feedback, its bass kicks. In Greer's fluid utterance of the word 'sugar.' This is the tangled, significant landscape of Barbarism: a world alien enough to beguile yet familiar enough to crush you with your own empathy.

"Barbarism is Katie Alice Greer's first full-length solo LP, following three EPs. From 2012-2019, Greer was the vocalist for Washington, D.C. punk band Priests, and co-founded the record label Sister Polygon."
-Ethan Swan

As Barbarism progresses, almost every new turn is an unexpected one. Lush synthesizers appear out of nowhere, dissonant melodies melt into lo-fi drum samples, gunshots sound, and Greer's voice narrates from several different locations at once. Even with the record's inherent chaos, it's a tightly controlled expression of tumult, ridiculousness, self-reflection, and insular joy....Barbarism is as thrilling as it is challenging, and a rare example of art truly existing on its own terms...
-Fred Thomas,, 4.5/5 stars


  • Vinyl LP


  1. FITS/My Love Can't Be
  2. Talking in My Sleep (Intro)
  3. Fake Nostalgia
  4. Dreamt I Talk to Horses
  5. Flag Wave Pt. 1
  6. Flag Wave Pt. 2
  7. Captivated
  8. No Man
  9. A Semi or a Freight Train
  10. How Do I Know (Pring 5)
  11. Barbarism

Customers Also Like