Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Legacy
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Lou Reed The RCA & Arista Vinyl Collection Vol. 1 150g 6LP Box Set

Lou Reed

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Collectible 150g Vinyl 6LP Box Set!
Features Albums Transformer, Berlin, Rock N Roll Animal, Coney Island Baby, Street Hassle & The Blue Mask!

The Lou Reed: The RCA & Arista Vinyl Collection Vol. 1 brings together 6 groundbreaking studio and live album titles written, recorded (and often produced) by Reed as a solo artist following the 1970 dissolution of the Velvet Undergound, the profoundly influential avant-rock ensemble he'd founded in 1965.

"This box set was Lou's last project. He oversaw the remastering of all his solo recordings made for RCA and Arista Records...This work was done at New York's Masterdisk in June and July 2013, with engineer Vlado Meller and Rob Santos of Sony/Legacy," Hal Willner wrote in his liner notes for this collection. "Everyone who was in that room or around Lou during this period witnessed a beautiful thing as he enthusiastically relived that whole period of this work with the joy of rediscovery, excitedly pointing out subtleties in sounds he hadn't heard in years. In retrospect, reminiscing about theses sessions done less than four months before he died, the moments seem more magnified."

Each of these albums was newly remastered under Lou's direct personal supervision, a long-term project completed shortly before the artist's passing at 71, on October 27, 2013. Fully restored album titles included the 12" vinyl edition of Lou Reed – The RCA & Arista Album Collection are: Transformer (1972), Berlin (1973), Rock n Roll Animal (1974), Coney Island Baby (1975), Street Hassle (1978) and The Blue Mask (1982).

“Our first date was a trip to the AES (Audio Engineering Society) convention. As wireheads Lou and I loved beautiful recordings and spent years making our studios, instruments and gear the best they could possibly be,” said Laurie Anderson, American musician/composer/performance artist and Lou Reed’s wife and partner for twenty-one years. “Lou put his heart into remastering these records. They are not smoothed out. Sometimes remastering revealed their details and roughness in the most exciting ways. They leap out at you with their original energy.

“I also love the rare images and the great selection of Lou’s words about his music in this collection. Lou was a superb analyst and sharp critic and the interview excerpts bring back his crazy sense of humor, his generosity and his big view of the world and the meaning of music. Anyone who has loved Lou’s music will be so happy to have this. I’m really grateful to Sony for putting this one out.”

Produced by Lou Reed, Rob Santos and Hal Wilner - this collection includes a 32-page book featuring memorabilia from Lou's personal archives, rarely seen photos and artwork, interview with Lou conducted during his years as a recording artist for RCA and Arista and evocative in-depth liner notes - written by Lou's longtime friend and the collection's co-producer Hal Willner.

An American master and true rock & roller, Lou Reed transformed popular art, music and culture through a body of work that continues to affect the way fans hear and see the world.

Reed, who cut his first single as a teenager in the late 1950s, began his professional career working as a New York in-house assembly line songwriter in the early 1960s while developing his pure artistic vision as frontman for the Velvet Underground.

After leaving the VU in 1970, Lou launched his unparalleled solo career, beginning with an extended run (1972-1986) at RCA Records and Arista Records that’s included a string of signature songs—”Perfect Day,” “Walk On The Wild Side,” “Satellite of Love,” “I Love You, Suzanne”—as well as albums iconic (Transformer, Berlin, Coney Island Baby, New Sensations) and iconoclastic (Metal Machine Music, Lou Reed Live Take No Prisoners).

Lou Reed brought the insight of literature and the honesty of journalism into some of the most elegant pop songs ever written while recording some of the most artful records ever made. No one has ever understood the primordial essence or the visionary potential of rock & roll better than Lou Reed, the quintessential New York rocker.

Lou Reed was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a solo artist in a ceremony at Cleveland’s Public Hall held on April 18, 2015. Lou—along with John Cale, Sterling Morrison and Maureen Tucker—was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame as a member of the Velvet Underground in 1996.

• Collectible 6LP Box Set
• 150g Vinyl
• Meticulous facsimile reproduction of the album’s original packaging
• 32-page Book

Transformer (November 1972)

1. Vicious
2. Andy's Chest
3. Perfect Day
4. Hangin' 'Round
5. Walk On the Wild Side
6. Make Up
7. Satellite of Love
8. Wagon Wheel
9. New York Telephone Conversation
10. I'm So Free
11. Goodnight Ladies

Berlin ( July 1973)
1. Berlin
2. Lady Day
3. Men of Good Fortune
4. Caroline Says I
5. How Do You Think It Feels
6. Oh Jim
7. Caroline Says II
8. The Kids
9. The Bed
10. The Sad Song

Rock n Roll Animal (Live - February 1974)
1. Intro / Sweet Jane
2. Heroin
3. White Light / White Heat
4. Lady Day
5. Rock 'n' Roll

Coney Island Baby (December 1975)
1. Crazy Feeling
2. Charley's Girl
3. She's My Best Friend
4. Kicks
5. A Gift
6. Ooohhh Baby
7. Nobody's Business
8. Coney Island Baby

Street Hassle (February 1978)
1. Gimmie Some Good Times
2. Dirt
3. Street Hassle
4. I Wanna Be Black
5. Real Good Time Together
6. Shooting Star
7. Leave Me Alone
8. Wait

The Blue Mask (February 1982)
1. My House
2. Women
3. Underneath the Bottle
4. The Gun
5. The Blue Mask
6. Average Guy
7. The Heroine
8. Waves of Fear
9. The Day John Kennedy Died
10. Heavenly Arms

Customers Also Like