Mahler Symphony No. 8 Hybrid Multi-Channel & Stereo 2SACD

Mormon Tabernacle Choir

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Brilliant Audiophile 5.1 Surround Sound!

The Utah Symphony is one of America's major symphony orchestras and a leading cultural organization in the Intermountain West. It is recognized internationally for its distinctive performances, commitment to music education programs, history and recording legacy. Maestro Thierry Fischer conducts as they join with the internationally-renowned Mormon Tabernacle Choir, to present a thrilling and authoritative interpretation of the immense Mahler Symphony No. 8, "Symphony of a Thousand."

This release was recorded live in February 2016, from concerts in the Salt Lake Tabernacle in Salt Lake City, Utah, sponsored by the O.C. Tanner Gift of Music. This organization was founded over 30 years ago through the combined vision of Obert C. Tanner and Gordon B. Hinckley, to share performances of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir and Utah Symphony, as a gift to the community.

Reference Recordings joins Utah Symphony in thanks to their 75th Anniversary Signature Sponsor, the George S. and Dolores Doré Eccles Foundation, and to Ken and Carolyn Gardner, their 75th Anniversary Mahler Cycle Sponsors, and to Jack Wheatley, their Recording Sponsor, for making this recording possible.

"The orchestra have never sounded better, with a notably fine wind choir. Soundmirror, responsible for recording and post-production under Reference Recordings' aegis, have captured the famous acoustic of the Mormon Tabernacle with remarkable skill... This Mahler Eighth may not replace your favourite, be it by Horenstein or Stokowski, Bernstein or Solti, Sinopoli or Abbado, but it will surely complement any of them in its grand trajectory, intelligence, clarity and beautiful sound." - Patrick Rucker, Gramophone

"While no recording can equal the impact of the Symphony No. 8 performed live, the Utah Symphony certainly captures the intense visceral power and thrilling majesty of Mahler's creation, so much so that this authoritative interpretation feels like the next best thing to hearing it in person." - Ron Schepper, Textura, February 2018

• Double Disc
• Super Audio CD
• SACD 5.1 Multi-Channel SACD Layer
• SACD Stereo SACD Layer
• This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
• Made in Germany

Mormon Tabernacle choir
Mack Wilberg, music director
The Madeleine Choir School
Utah Symphony
Thierry Fischer, conductor

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911)
Symphony No. 8 in E-flat Major
Part I - Hymnus: Veni, Creator Spiritus
Disc One:

1. Veni, creator spiritus
2. Orchestra Interlude - Infirma nostri corporis
3. Accende lumen sensibus
4. Reprise: Veni, creator spiritus
5. Gloria Patri Domino

Part II: Final Scene from "Faust"
Disc Two:

1. Poco Adagio
2. Waldung, sie schwankt heran
3. Ewiger Wonnebrand
4. Gerettet ist das edle Glied vom Bosen
5. Hier ist die Aussicht frei
6. Auberst lagsam. Adagissimo - Dir, der Unberuhrbaren
7. Neige, neige, du Ohnegleiche
8. Komm! Komm! hebe dich zu hohern Spharen!
9. Alles Vergangliche ist nur ein Gleichnis

Customers Also Like