Genre: R&B
Label: Rumble
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Martha Reeves And The Vandellas Heat Wave Import LP

Martha Reeves And The Vandellas

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
A Quintessential Piece of the Motown Sound!

Born in Eufaula, Alabama, in 1941, the third of 11 children, Martha Reeves moved with her family to the Motor City -- Detroit, Michigan -- when she was less than a year old. Like so many other R&B and soul singers of the era, she was raised on gospel and started singing in the church, but before long the secular interests of doo-wop and R&B won out, and by the age of 18 she had joined her first vocal group, The Fascinations. In 1960 she joined the group that would eventually become Martha & The Vandellas (named after Martha's childhood street, Van Dyke, and her singing idol, Della Reese). After filling in on back-up vocals for Marvin Gaye's classic "Stubborn Kind of Fellow," the group signed their own recording contract with Motown's Gordy label. By the following year, they were having massive chart success with this album's title-track, "Heat Wave," and "Quicksand" (both of which were written by the new songwriting trio of Holland-Dozier-Holland). Compiling many of those early hit singles in 1963, Heat Wave is a quintessential piece of the Motown Sound that every record collection needs.

"...a triumph..." -Ron Rynn,

• Vinyl LP
• Import

Side One:

1. Heatwave
2. Then He Kissed Me
3. Hey There Lonely Boy
4. More
5. Danke Schoen
6. If I Had A Hammer
Side Two:
1. Hello Stranger
2. Just One Look
3. Wait Till My Bobby Gets Home
4. My Boyfriend's Back
5. Mockingbird
6. Quicksand

Customers Also Like