Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Intervention


Matthew Sweet Altered Beast Hybrid Stereo SACD

Matthew Sweet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Artist-Approved Expanded Edition On SACD!
Mastered Direct-to-DSD From The Original Analog Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound!

The middle entry in Matthew Sweet's holy 90's Power-Pop Trilogy, Altered Beast is a sprawling, multi-dimensional power-pop trip finally presented at its artistic fullest. Sweet was a songwriting machine in this period, and in doing source research a third analog master reel with 6 extra tracks was discovered. Intervention's Expanded Edition CD/SACD is a 21-track Beast that shows a master songwriter at his prolific best.

While many of these extra tracks were used as B-sides on CD singles and saw release on other compilations, Intervention's Expanded Edition places these songs in the context they they belong, with the album for which they were recorded. Hearing the quality of tracks like "Superdeformed" one wonders how Altered Beast wasn't originally a bigger CD set!

Altered Beast is Mastered Direct-to-DSD from the Original Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The Master Tapes are 30ips 1/2" analog reels, and the six bonus tracks are on their own reel. Intervention's mastering opens up the sound stage and for the very first time presenting this amazing recording will FULL bass extension and dynamic power! The result is the best-sounding Altered Beast that's ever been or ever will be! This is simply a fabulous-sounding rock recording that's big, bold and super fun to listen to.

The album art is beautifully restored by IR's Tom Vadakan and housed in a super jewel box.

Altered Beast is a brilliant, ambitious creation ...


  • Artist-Approved Expanded Edition
  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Mastered Direct-to-DSD From Original Analog Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
  • Album art beautifully restored by Tom Vadakan
  • Super jewel box packaging
  • 6 Bonus Demo Tracks not included on original release
  • Disc made in Germany
  • Packaged in USA


Part One:

  1. Dinosaur Act
  2. Devil With The Green Eyes
  3. The Ugly Truth
  4. Time Capsule
  5. Someone To Pull The Trigger
  6. Knowing People
  7. Life Without You

Part Two:

  1. Intro
  2. Ugly Truth Rock
  3. Do It Again
  4. In Too Deep
  5. Reaching Out
  6. Falling
  7. What Do You Know?
  8. Evergreen

Bonus Tracks:

  1. Born In Sin
  2. Ultrasuede
  3. Superdeformed
  4. Speed Of Light
  5. Thing
  6. Bovine Connection

Customers Also Like