Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Intervention


Matthew Sweet Son Of Altered Beast Hybrid Stereo SACD

Matthew Sweet

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Artist-Approved Edition On SACD!
Remastered Direct-to-DSD From The Original Analog Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound!

Matthew Sweet hit the road to tour for 1993's sprawling masterpiece Altered Beast, giving birth to this wild Son Of Altered Beast. While two tracks were studio-derived, the rest are ripping live tracks including a mind-blowing cover of Neil Young's "Don't Cry No Tears", a deep cut from Young's underrated Zuma.

Son Of Altered Beast is must-have for Sweet fans, a fascinating window into the live power of Matthew at his most prolific and perhaps peak period as an artist.

Son Of Altered Beast is remastered Direct-to-DSD from the Original Analog Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound. The tapes are beautifully full, warm and dynamic, and Intervention's remaster is a dramatic improvement over the '90s era CD, which in comparison is very hard and glassy sounding. This is a rip-roaring, guitar-soaked (mostly) live record that Sweet fans will hear like it's the first time!


  • Artist-Approved Edition
  • Super Audio CD
  • SACD Stereo SACD Layer
  • This Hybrid SACD contains a 'Red Book' Stereo CD Layer which is playable on most conventional CD Players!
  • Remastered Direct-to-DSD From Original Analog Master Tapes by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound
  • Super jewel box packaging
  • Disc made in Germany
  • Packaged in USA


  1. Devil With The Green Eyes (Remix)
  2. Superdeformed (Live)
  3. Someone To Pull The Trigger (Live)
  4. Knowing People (Live)
  5. I Wanted To Tell You (Live)
  6. Don't Cry No Tears (Live)
  7. Ultrasuede (Studio Outtake)

Customers Also Like