McCoy Tyner Expansions 180g LP

McCoy Tyner

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

All Analog 180g Vinyl LP!
Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series!
Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio From Original Analog Tape!
Produced By Music Matters' Joe Harley!
Pressed at RTI!

Pianist McCoy Tyner was an acknowledged force of nature. On the aptly-named Expansions, Tyner fronts a remarkable band consisting of Woody Shaw on trumpet, Wayne Shorter on tenor saxophone, Gary Bartz on alto saxophone, Ron Carter on cello, Herbie Lewis on bass, and Freddie Waits on drums. Stand-out tracks in a program of four Tyner originals and one standard include the timeless masterpiece "Peresina" and the immersive opening track "Vision."

Blue Note Records' Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series is produced by Joe Harley and features all-analog, mastered-from-the-original-master-tapes, 180g audiophile vinyl reissues in deluxe packaging. Mastering is by Kevin Gray (Cohearent Audio) and vinyl is manufactured at Record Technology Incorporated (RTI).

Of pianist McCoy Tyner's seven Blue Note albums of the 1967-1970 period, Expansions is the most definitive.
-Scott Yanow,, 4.5/5 stars
Joined by a crack ensemble featuring, among others, Wayne Shorter on tenor sax, Ron Carter on cello and bassist Herbie Lewis, this LP finds the prickly midpoint between jazz's modal interests and its growing avant garde school. Tyner rarely sounded as playful as he does throughout, particularly on his original compositions which find him splashing at times like a faulty player piano and pushing against the smoothness of Shorter, alto saxophonist Gary Bartz and trumpeter Woody Shaw with rough stabs of notes and fiery melodic bursts.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • All Analog 180g Vinyl
  • Tone Poet Audiophile Vinyl Reissue Series
  • Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio
  • Mastered From Original Master Tape
  • Produced by Joe Harley
  • Pressed at RTI


Woody Shaw trumpet
Gary Bartz alto saxophone, wooden flute
Wayne Shorter tenor saxophone, clarinet
Ron Carter cello
McCoy Tyner piano
Herbie Lewis bass
Freddie Waits drums


Side One:

  1. Vision
  2. Song Of Happiness

Side Two:

  1. Smitty's Place
  2. Peresina
  3. I Thought I'd Let You Know

Customers Also Like