Mendelssohn Symphony No. 3 Numbered Limited Edition 180g 45rpm 2LP

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Featured in Michael Fremer's Heavy Rotation in the February 2012 Issue of Stereophile!

Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Master Tapes & Pressed at RTI! Numbered Deluxe Laminated Gatefold Jackets! Only 2500 Numbered Limited Edition Copies Worldwide!

The marvelous Swiss conductor Peter Maag leads the London Symphony Orchestra performing Mendelssohn's "Scotch" or "Scottish" Symphony, recorded in 1960. A gloriously warmhearted and energetic performance, Maag's interpretation has set the recorded standard for this work! The recording captures wonderful chemistry between Peter Maag and the London Symphony Orchestra. It's Mendelssohn performance at its best, which is saying a lot!

"Peter Maag conducts a delightfully fresh "Scottish" Symphony, keeping tempos moderately brisk, textures lean, and phrasing intuitive - that is, everything flows easily and logically. ...Decca's 1960 recording of the symphony is full and clear with plenty of depth" - Victor Carr,

"The results are a dazzling example of what vinyl still has to offer, if prepared with care that mass-produced records do not receive. The sound defines vividness, with an undistorted dynamic range and pin-point accuracy of the orchestral instruments’ locations. Long considered one of the best recordings (among many) turned out by London (actually British Decca), this pair of 45rpm discs was an ear opener. Exciting and involving, ORG has produced a must-have for anyone who possesses audiophile level equipment." - Zan Furtwangler, 4 Stars!!,, January 2012

• Numbered Deluxe Laminated Double Gatefold Jackets
• Only 2500 Numbered Limited Edition Copies Worldwide!
• 180g Vinyl
• 45rpm
• Pressed at RTI
• Mastered by Bernie Grundman from the Original Analog Master Tapes!
• Originally released as London CS 6191
• Famous London Records Blueback Series

London Symphony Orchestra
Peter Maag, conductor

Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
LP1 - Side A:

1. Overture "The Hebrides" (Fingal's Cave), Op. 26
LP1 - Side B:
Symphony No. 3 in A minor ("The Scotch"), Op. 56

1. Andante con molto
LP2 - Side C:
1. Vivace non troppo
2. Adagio
LP2 - Side D:
1. Allegro vivacissimo - Allegro maestoso assai

Customers Also Like