Miles Davis Ascenseur pur l'echafaud (Lift To The Scaffold) Soundtrack 180g Import 2LP

Miles Davis

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Exclusively Remastered! 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Pressing! Original '58 Soundtrack + 16 Bonus Tracks!

Ascenseur Pour L'échafaud is a 1958 French film directed by Louis Malle. It was released as Lift To The Scaffold in the UK. The film was nothing special, but it did accomplish one thing: it proposed a new ideal of cinematic realism, a new way to look at a woman.

Jean-Paul Rappeneau, a Jazz fan and Malle's assistant at the time, suggested asking Miles Davis to create the film's soundtrack. He showed Davis a screening of the movie, and afterwards Miles knew exactly how to portray the smoky hazed or frantic scenes through sonic imagery.

On December 4 1957, he brought four French Jazzmen (Barney Wilen / tenor saxophone, René Urtreger / piano, Pierre Michelot – bass and Kenny Clarke – drums) to the recording studio "Le Poste Parisien Studio" without having them prepare anything. Davis only gave the musicians a few rudimentary harmonic sequences he had assembled in his hotel room. Eventually Ascenseur Pour L'échafaud has become a great achievement of artistic excellence.

For the first time since its original release in 1958, Music On Vinyl combined the original soundtrack and the additional recordings and created an essential 2LP set with the original artwork.

• Exclusively Remastered
• 180 Gram Audiophile Vinyl Pressing
• Gatefold Jacket
• Original '58 Soundtrack + 16 Bonus tracks
• Import

LP1 - Side 1:

1. Generique
2. L'Assassinat de Carala
3. Sur l'Autoroute
4. Julien Dans L'Ascenseur
5. Florence Sur Les Champs-Elysees
LP1 - Side 2:
1. Diner Au Motel
2. Evasion De Julien
3. Visite du Vigile
4. Au Bar Du Petit Bac
5. Chez le photographe du motel

LP2 -Side 3:
1. Nuit sur les Champs-Elysees (Take 1)
2. Nuit sur les Champs-Elysees (Take 2)
3. Nuit sur les Champs-Elysees (Take 3) (Generique)
4. Nuit sur les Champs-Elysees (Take 4) (Florence sur les Champs-Elysees)
5. Assassinat (take 1) (Visite du Vigile)
6. Assassinat (take 2) (Julien dans l'ascenseur)
7. Assassinat (take 3) (l'Assassinat de Carala)
8. Motel (Diner au motel)
LP2 - Side 4:
1. Final (Take 1)
2. Final (Take 2)
3. Final (Take 3) (Chez le photographe du motel)
4. Ascenseur (Evasion de Julien)
5. Le Petit Bal (Take 1)
6. Le Petit Bal (Take 2) (Au bar du Petit Bac)
7. Sequence Voiture (Take 1)
8. Sequence Voiture Sur L'Aut (Take 2) (Sur l'autoroute)

Customers Also Like