Monk & Coltrane The Complete 1957 Riverside Recordings 180g 3LP Box Set

Thelonious Monk & John Coltrane

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl 3LP Box Set! Pressed at RTI!
Remastered From Original Analog Sources!

For an all-too-brief, magical time in 1957, two of the greatest musicians in history - Thelonious Monk and John Coltrane - performed together every night at New York's Five Spot Cafe. And between April and July of that year, they made their only studio recordings together. Coltrane was poised to make a giant leap forward - and ready to learn from one of the masters, Monk. In a DownBeat interview Coltrane recalled: "Working with Monk brought me close to a musical architect of the highest order. I learned from him in every way."

This deluxe, 3-LP, 180-gram vinyl box set captures all of those sessions in chronological order. Originally released on CD, this edition features newly remastered audio from the original analog sources. An accompanying booklet offers an insightful essay by the late Orrin Keepnews, who, as producer of the original sessions, was present at the creation of every note.

"...some of bop's most thrilling music." - JazzTimes

• 3LP Box Set
• 180g Vinyl
• Remastered and sourced from the original analog tapes
• Pressed at RTI from lacquers cut by George Horn at Fantasy Studios in Berkley, CA
• Housed in unique "file folder" packaging
• Original artwork
• Rare photos
• Booklet - Including an essay by Orrin Keepnews, producer of the original sessions

Thelonious Monk
John Coltrane
Art Blakey
Wilbur Ware
Coleman Hawkins
Shadow Wilson
Ray Copeland
Gigi Gryce

LP 1
Side A:

1. Monk's Mood (False Start)
2. Monk's Mood
3. Crepuscule with Nellie (Take 1)
4. Crepuscule with Nellie (Take 2)
5. Crepuscule with Nellie (Breakdown)
Side B:
1. Blues For Tomorrow (First stereo release)
2. Crepuscule with Nellie (Edited: Retakes 4 & 5)

LP 2
Side A:

1. Crepuscule with Nellie (Retake 6)
2. Off Minor (Take 4)
3. Off Minor (Take 5)
4. Abide With Me (Take 1)
5. Abide With Me
Side B:
1. Ephistrophy (Short Version)
2. Ephistrophy
3. Well, You Needn't (Opening)

LP 3
Side A:

1. Well, You Needn't
2. Ruby, My Dear (with Coleman Hawkins)
Side B:
1. Ruby, My Dear (with John Coltrane)
2. Nutty
3. Trinkle, Tinkle

Customers Also Like