Genre: Folk
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Nanci Griffith Working in Corners 4LP Box Set

Nanci Griffith

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

4LP Box Set Contains the Country-Folk-Pop Icon's First Four Albums!

TAS Rated 5/5 Music, 5/5 Sonics in the December 2023 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

Paste Magazine The 20 Best Box Sets of 2023 - Rated 19/20!

Nanci Griffith's Working in Corners box set celebrates the country icon's first four albums: There's a Light Beyond These Woods, Poet in My Window, Once in a Very Blue Moon, and GRAMMY-nominated The Last of the True Believers. The set includes expansive liner notes by producer Jim Rooney and writer Holly Gleason, along with rare photographs.

Her trailblazing career caused Rolling Stone to dub Griffith as "…one of the most critically acclaimed and beloved veterans of the country-folk-pop scene."

For all that she did for others, Griffith's own work has oft been overlooked even after years of recording many great albums for major labels. This new boxed set is a welcome step in correcting this oversight. It brings together four early albums by Griffith, which took her from a more straightforward folk sound into a grittier country mode. As much as I love the first two albums she made, I find myself constantly returning to 1984's Once In a Very Blue Moon and 1986's The Last of the True Believers, her country turn that makes much better use of the crystalline directness of her voice and lyrics. The plainspoken qualities of both are a subtle feint that allows the sharper point to find their target and has left a deep impression on listeners for some 40 years. This collection helps drive that message home with a wonderful booklet that features memories of Griffith's collaborators and copious amounts of archival material, and pitch perfect remasters of the albums.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine
It beckons long-time fans and warmly introduces these poignant, long out-of-print country-folk albums to a new generation.
-Greg Cahill, The Absolute Sound, December 2023, Music 5/5, Sonics 5/5


  • 4LP Box Set
  • Black Vinyl
  • Nanci Griffith's First 4 Albums
  • There's a Light Beyond These Woods (1978)
  • Poet in My Window (1982)
  • Once in a Very Blue Moon (1984)
  • The Last of the True Believers (1986)
  • Lacquers Cut by Jeff Powell
  • Expansive Liner Notes by Producer Jim Rooney & Writer Holly Gleason
  • Rare Photographs
  • Slipcase
  • Made in USA


There's a Light Beyond These Woods

Side 1:
  1. I Remember Joe
  2. Alabama Soft-Spoken Blues
  3. Michael's Song
  4. Song for Remembered Heroes
  5. West Texas Sun
Side 2:
  1. There's a Light Beyond These Woods
  2. Dollar Matinee
  3. Montana Backroads
  4. John Phillip Griffith

Poet in My Window

Side 1:
  1. Marilyn Monroe / Neon and Waltzes
  2. Heart of a Miner
  3. Julie Anne
  4. You Can't Go Home Again
  5. October Reasons
Side 2:
  1. Wheels
  2. Workin' in Corners
  3. Waltzing with the Angels
  4. Trouble with Roses
  5. Tonight I Think I'm Gonna Go Downtown
  6. Poet In My Window

Once in a Very Blue Moon

Side 1:
  1. Ghost in the Music
  2. Love Is a Hard Waltz
  3. Roseville Fair
  4. Mary & Omie
  5. Friend Out in the Madness
  6. I'm Not Drivin' These Wheels (Bring the Prose to the Wheel)
  7. Time Alone
Side 2:
  1. Ballad of Robin Winter-Smith
  2. Daddy Said
  3. Once in a Very Blue Moon
  4. If I Were the Woman You Wanted
  5. Year Down in New Orleans
  6. Spin on a Red Brick Floor

The Last of the True Believers

Side 1:
  1. The Last of the True Believers
  2. Love at the Five & Dime
  3. St. Olav's Gate
  4. More than a Whisper
  5. Banks of the Pontchartrain
Side 2:
  1. Lookin' for the Time (Working Girl)
  2. Goin' Gone
  3. One of These Days
  4. Love's Found a Shoulder
  5. Fly by Night
  6. The Wing & the Wheel

Customers Also Like