Nathan Davis with Georges Arfvanitas Trio Live in Paris: The ORTF Recordings 1966-67 180g 3LP

Nathan Davis & Georges Arvanitas Trio

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Great Title Re-Pressed on 180g Vinyl 3LP!
Remastered from Original Master Tapes!
Pressed by Optimal in Germany Using The Metal Mothers From Pallas!

Michael Fremer Rated 9/10 Music, 9/10 Sonics!

Style is not a given. Not many musicians reach the level of artistic personality where you can unmistakably recognize them. It takes character, roots, honesty, soulfulness. Nathan Davis had style.

His tone on tenor was unique. So was his soprano sound and his distinctive approach to flute. His musical world was equally original and knew no boundaries.

This concert in Paris is audible proof that as a performer, his fluid phrasing, distinct articulation, booming bottom register, growls and shrieks were fuelled by tremendous drive and furious invention - the man was on fire!

These live sessions demonstrate the limitless invention of Nathan's solos. Holding no punches, weaving signature phrases, shouts and riffs into his solos, he was a fierce and fervid performer. With a sort of hollow resonance at the heart of his reedy and warm sound, Nathan Davis was a highly original artist, from an era when having a distinct sound on your instrument was the grail of jazz artistry. Harold Land, Jimmy Heath, John Gilmore, Paul Gonsalves, Charlie Rouse, George Coleman, Booker Ervin, Clifford Jordan... Jazz is made of such giants and Nathan Davis was one of them.

- Jean Szlamowicz

Note: A slight distortion may appear on two tracks on LP 2. This defect is impossible to erase without distorting the entire recording.

I doubt I'm the only jazz lover who, while listening to inspired live recordings, imagines being in the venue on the night of the performance, and if that happens to you too, well, Live in Paris can take you there.
-Jeff Wilson, The Absolute Sound, April 2019


  • 180g Vinyl
  • 3LP
  • 2021 Repress
  • Remastered from the Original Master Tapes
  • Cut at SST Studio in Germany
  • Pressed by Optimal in Germany using the Metal Mothers from Pallas
  • Gatefold Cover with Full Size Photos by Jean-Pierre Leloir
  • OBI Strip
  • Double Insert with Notes
  • Each Record Has Been Visually Checked to Prevent Defects
  • Official Release with the Full Permission & Cooperation of the Nathan Davis Estate & INA (Institut National de l'Audiovisuel)


Nathan Davis saxophone
Georges Arvanitas piano, organ
Jacky Samson bass
Charles Saudrais drums
Jack Diéval piano (E2)
Jacques Hess bass (E2)
Franco Manzecchi drums (E2)


Side A:

  1. The Hip Walk
  2. Yesterdays (Flute Version)

Side B:

  1. A5
  2. Nathalie's Bounce

Side C:

  1. Love Ye The Neighbor
  2. Mid Evil Dance

Side D:

  1. The Rules of Freedom
  2. The Thing

Side E:

  1. Yesterdays (Sax Version)
  2. Blues For Southeast Asia

Customers Also Like