Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Reprise
Size: 12"
Additional Artists: Crazy Horse
Format: 33RPM,


Neil Young Official Release Series Discs 22, 23+, 24 & 25 Numbered Limited Edition 180g 9LP Box Set

Neil Young

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Numbered, Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 9LP Box Set!
#5 in the Neil Young Official Release Series!
Contains Freedom, Ragged Glory Expanded with 4 Rare Tracks, Weld on Vinyl for the First Time Outside of Europe & Arc on Vinyl for the First Time!

Paste Magazine The 20 Best Box Sets of 2023 - Rated 10/20!

This is the fifth volume of Reprise's chronological re-issue of Neil Young's official catalog releases. The initial pressings are numbered, and the vinyl is pressed on 180g vinyl. The vinyl box for the four albums is in a telescoping box.

In Neil Young's extensive career, this period of music came at a definite turning point. The 1990s were almost ready to start, and Young had recently returned to his long-time home at Reprise Records. It definitely appeared to be a joyous and jubilant moment for the man who had recently celebrated the 21-year anniversary of a solo career that had never stopped progressing.

Freedom (1989) - 2LP:
The first album in Volume 5 is aptly named Freedom, and is one of Neil's most popular and successful albums. It includes the classic track "Rockin' in the Free World" (always a live show staple), plus the stand-out songs "Wrecking Ball," "No More", "Too Far Gone" and "Crime in the City."

Ragged Glory (1990) - 3LP:
Ragged Glory was a non-stop celebration for the music Neil Young & Crazy Horse are still creating at full force, and was recorded at Young's Broken Arrow Ranch in Northern California. The 10 song original album is expanded for this re-issue with 4 rare tracks. "Interstate" and "Don't Spook the Horse" were both b-sides to singles. "Box Car" and the 12-minute "Born to Run" are both previously unreleased versions. The 4 additional songs have expanded the format to 3 LPs.

Weld (1991) - 3LP:
Weld is one of the most groundbreaking albums of Neil Young's history. It's a live album recorded with Crazy Horse after the release of Ragged Glory. It was from a wildly creative period of the band's history, and as Neil Young has often done, gave notice that he was a rock & roll originator who could never be second-guessed. Only previously released on vinyl in Europe.

Arc (1991) - 1LP:
Arc is the live companion release to Weld, and at the time generated the kind of musical notoriety that has often marked Young's creations. Arc is a 35-minute outburst of feedback, improvisation, guitar solos and vocal fragments. This marks the album's first release on vinyl.

...the set lives up to the series' reputation for handsome, definitive reissues of Young's core catalog.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine,, 4.5/5 stars
He came out swinging in 1989 with his electric guitar cranked up and a renewed fire boiling in his guts. The resulting albums Freedom and Ragged Glory are distorted and furious with long stretches of instrumental fireworks undertaken by Young and his cohort Frank Sampedro. Joining remastered versions of those two albums in this set are the live album Weld, a blistering document of Crazy Horse's unbeatable chemistry and raw power (sit with their extended version of 'Like A Hurricane' and see if you don't achieve liftoff).
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Numbered, Limited Edition
  • Official Release Series #5
  • 9LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • 2LP: Freedom (1989)
  • 3LP: Ragged Glory (1990) - Expanded with 4 Rare Tracks Incl. 2 Previously Unreleased Versions
  • 3LP: Weld (1991) - Only Previously Released on Vinyl in Europe
  • 1LP: Arc (1991) - First Release on Vinyl
  • Ragged Glory Remastered from the Original Analog Recordings at Bernie Grundman Mastering
  • Telescoping Box
  • Historically Accurate Artwork
  • Made in Germany


Freedom (2LP)

  1. Rockin' in the Free World (Live Acoustic)
  2. Crime in the City (Sixty to Zero Part 1)
  3. Don't Cry
  4. Hangin' on a Limb
  5. Eldorado
  6. The Ways of Love
  7. Someday
  8. On Broadway
  9. Wrecking Ball
  10. No More
  11. Too Far Gone
  12. Rockin' in the Free World (Electric)

Ragged Glory - Smell the Horse (3LP)

  1. Country Home
  2. White Line
  3. Fuckin' Up
  4. Over and Over
  5. Love to Burn
  6. Farmer John
  7. Mansion on the Hill
  8. Days That Used to Be
  9. Love and Only Love
  10. Mother Earth (Natural Anthem)
  11. Interstate
  12. Don't Spook the Horse
  13. Box Car
  14. Born to Run

Weld (3LP)

  1. Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black)
  2. Crime in the City
  3. Blowin' in the Wind
  4. Welfare Mothers
  5. Love to Burn
  6. Cinnamon Girl
  7. Mansion on the Hill
  8. Fuckin' Up
  9. Cortez the Killer
  10. Powderfinger
  11. Love and Only Love
  12. Rockin' in the Free World
  13. Like a Hurricane
  14. Farmer John
  15. Tonight's the Night
  16. Roll Another Number (For the Road)

Arc (1LP)

  1. Arc (A Compilation Composition)

Customers Also Like