Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Reprise
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Neil Young + Promise of the Real Noise & Flowers 2LP

Neil Young + Promise of the Real

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Live Double LP Captures the Group in All Their Glory on 2019 European Tour!
Part of the "Neil Young Archives Performance Series"!

Noise & Flowers documents a 9-date tour that began just two weeks after Neil Young's lifetime friend and manager of more than 50 years, Elliot Roberts, passed away at age 76. Performing alongside a photograph of Roberts taped to his road case, Young approached each show as a celebratory memorial service to honor his late friend. It's a trek the legendary singer/songwriter describes as "wondrous."

"Playing in his memory [made it] one of the most special tours ever," Young says in the album's liner notes. "We hit the road and took his great spirit with us into every song. This music belongs to no one. It's in the air. Every note was played for music's great friend, Elliot."

In paying tribute to the manager who guided Young's career for over a half-century, Noise & Flowers explores all corners of his vast discography. It balances all-timer anthems ("Mr. Soul", "Helpless", "Rockin' in the Free World") with rarely aired '70s deep cuts ("Field of Opportunity", "On the Beach") and '00s gems ("From Hank to Hendrix", "Throw Your Hatred Down").

His frequent backing band since 2015, Promise of the Real effectively bridges the extremes in Young's sound, infusing his raging rockers and country serenades with their casual brilliance and telepathic intuition.

Noise & Flowers is a good testament for the group: they sound sensitive on 'From Hank to Hendrix,' roar throughout 'Fuckin' Up,' and generate a psychedelic swirl on 'I've Been Waiting for You.' Promise of the Real give Noise & Flowers the muscle the music needs, which means the album never sounds nostalgic or stiff: it's a warm celebration of the music made while Elliot Roberts stood by Neil Young's side.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine,


  • Double LP
  • Neil Young Archives Performance Series
  • Mastered from 192/24 Digital
  • Produced by "The Volume Dealers": Neil Young & Niko Bolas
  • Gatefold Jacket


Side One:

  1. Mr. Soul
  2. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere
  3. Helpless
  4. Field of Opportunity
  5. Alabama

Side Two:

  1. Throw Your Hatred Down
  2. Rockin' in the Free World

Side Three:

  1. Comes a Time
  2. From Hank to Hendrix
  3. On the Beach
  4. Are You Ready for the Country?

Side Four:

  1. I've Been Waiting for You
  2. Winterlong
  3. F***in' Up

Customers Also Like