Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Universal
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Nick Drake Made to Love Magic 180g LP

Nick Drake

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
180g Vinyl Reissue of Compilation Album!

A companion piece to his three studio albums, Made to Love Magic is a Nick Drake album comprised of rarities, outtakes, and remixes, including the song, Tow The Line. The earliest recordings on this album stem from his time at Cambridge University in 1968 where he met and performed with fellow student Robert Kirby. In the Spring of 1968, Kirby recorded several of Nick’s new songs. Luckily these tapes survived and are now released here. River Man is the only version known to exist without orchestration and is thought to detail Nick’s days in Cambridge, whereas Mayfair exists here in its earliest known format, a wry and light hearted view of the London Nick was getting to know.

On leaving Cambridge and entering a recording studio, Nick was writing what was to become his debut album, Five Leaves Left. Joey and Clothes of Sand, both recorded towards the end of 1968, are two songs that never made it onto the album. These two songs plus the alternate version of The Thoughts of Mary Jane previously appeared on the compilation album Time Of No Reply. In early studio sessions Nick used Richard Hewson as an orchestrator, but his unhappiness with the results led him back to colleague Robert Kirby for most future arrangements. By this time the debut album was already too full for Magic and Time Of No Reply so Robert’s original arrangements remained on manuscript only. It was to these scores that Robert returned in 2003 and a new ‘original’ arrangement was recorded. You now hear the song as Nick intended it to be heard.

The melting pot that was Island Records in the late ’60s caused many artists to collaborate with each other. Label boss and producer Chris Blackwell was a strong believer in cross-fertilization both in musical styles and personalities. Nick was friends with both John Martyn and Richard Thompson amongst others on the varied roster. In March 1969 Nick found himself in North London’s Morgan Studios — a rare departure from Sound Techniques where most of his work was recorded — to play a version of Three Hours with the late ‘Reebop’ Kwaakhu Baah on congas and an unknown flautist.

This version was recorded 2 months before the one that appears on Five Leaves Left. It was discovered on a multi track and is released in a mixed version for the first time. It is longer and more relaxed than its final version almost amounting to a ‘jam’ session. After the release of the Pink Moon album, Nick returned to the studio to record what was thought to be his last 4 songs — Black Eyed Dog, Rider On The Wheel, Voices, and Hanging On A Star. These were hastily mixed and later appeared on the Fruit Tree box set. Hanging On A Star was a newly discovered take of the song with, it was judged, a better vocal; Nick recording voice and guitar separately for the first time. It was during this recent mix that the tape was allowed to run on and Tow The Line made itself known, never having been mixed or, indeed, heard since 1974.

By returning to the team of John Wood and Robert Kirby, and with the full co-operation of Nick’s sister Gabrielle, we have, in this release, a companion piece to the three studio albums: Five Leaves Left, Bryter, and Pink Moon.

Made To Love Magic is a fitting addition to the short but all-encompassing canon of work Nick recorded in his few years in the studio.

• 180g Vinyl

Side One:

1. Rider On The Wheel
2. Magic
3. River Man
4. Joey
5. Thoughts Of Mary Jane
6. Mayfair
7. Hanging On A Star
Side Two:
1. Three Hours
2. Clothes Of Sand
3. Voices
4. Time Of No Reply
5. Black Eyed Dog
6. Tow The Line

Customers Also Like