Genre: World
Label: Decca
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Pepe Romero Flamenco 180g Direct Metal Master Import 2LP

Pepe Romero

Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
Audiophile 180g Vinyl Direct Metal Master Double LP!
Pressed at Pallas in Germany!
Mastered from the Original Masters of Universal Music!

Guitarist Pepe Romero is joined by vocalist Chano Lobato as well as the dancers Maria Magdalena and Paco Romero providing percussive sounds of the dance itself bringing another dimension to the music.

"A strictly traditional flamenco record, Pepe Romero's 1987 recording Flamenco! features not only his own sterling guitar work, but also singer Chano Lobato's expressive vocals and, in an inspired touch that not enough flamenco artists have thought of, two genuine flamenco dancers, Maria Magdalena and Paco Romero. Flamenco, after all, is dance music, and as in some forms of English contra dancing, Appalachian clog dancing, and other forms of folk music, the percussive sound of the dancers' shoes (and the female dancer's traditional castanets) is intended as part of the music. As a result, Flamenco! has a vitality and excitement often missing from classical flamenco records, which can sometimes come off as a bit stuffy and overly serious. Lobato's voice, a dusky alto with a beautifully controlled vibrato, suits the material perfectly, capturing the florid theatricality of flamenco music without going over the top. There are undoubtedly better flamenco records than this, but there are few that are as much fun." - allmusicguide

• Double LP
• Audiophile 180g Vinyl
• Audiophile analogue direct metal mastering by Hans-Jorg Mauksch
• Cutting to copperplate at Pauler Acoustics
• Pressed at Pallas GmbH Germany
• Mastered from the Original Masters of Universal Music
• Analogphonic Release
• Very first 2LP set release for enhanced sound reproduction
• Import
• Gatefold Jacket

Pepe Romero, guitar
Chano Lobato, vocals
Maria Magdalena, dancer
Paco Romero, dancer

Side A:

1. Que se ven desde el Conquero (Fandangos de Huelva)
2. Zapateado
3. Soleares
4. Sera el quererte (Sevillanas corraleras)
Side B:
5. Ha entrao una fragata (Alegrias)
6. Mama yo quiero un lucero (Bulerias)
7. Fue, porque non me dio ganas (Granadinas)
8. Aquellos duros antiguos (Tanguillos)

Side C:
1. Bulerias
2. Y si no, me daba doble (Cantinas)
3. Farrucas
Side D:
4. De mi vera te fuistes (Seguiriyas)
5. Alegrias

Recorded December 1987 at Ultrecht, The Netherlands.

Customers Also Like