Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Jemp Records
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Phish Slip Stitch & Pass 180g 2LP


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Live Music On 180g Vinyl 2LP!

Slip Stitch and Pass is Phish’s eighth album and second live record, now available in a 2-LP vinyl set. The album was recorded on 32-track digital multitrack tapes on March 1st, 1997 at Markthalle Hamburg in Hamburg, Germany near the end of Phish’s winter 1997 European tour. Slip Stitch and Pass was recorded by front-of-house engineer Paul Languedoc, produced by Phish, and mixed by engineer John Siket to 1/2” analog reels. Celebrated designer Storm Thorgerson designed the album cover.

Slip Stitch and Pass showcases Phish in an intimate club setting fourteen years into their career – and five years into major label recording – at a time when much larger arena and festival shows had become the standard. Hamburg 3/1/97 was also when Mike made the full switch to his new Modulus bass, which signaled a time of transition for the band into a funkier, more groove oriented approach to their music. The nine album tracks were compiled from both sets of the 3/1/97 Markthalle show and sequenced as a 73-minute continuous live set.

Slip Stitch and Pass offers transcendent jams (“Wolfman’s Brother”, “Taste”) a trio of covers (Talking Heads’ “Cities”, ZZ Top’s “Jesus Just Left Chicago” and the barbershop-quartet standard “Hello My Baby”) as well as the first official release at the time of longtime concert favorite, “Mike’s Song”, (combined into a hot ‘Mike’s Groove’ for the only time with “Lawn Boy”) “Weekapaug Groove.” The Hamburg “Mike’s Song” is also of note for its unique Doors-gone-Pink Floyd interlude referencing Jim Morrison’s recitation in the Oedipal drama “The End.”

Slip Stitch and Pass was originally sequenced by Fred Kevorkian, mastered by Bob Ludwig, and released by Elektra October 28, 1997 on CD and cassette. In February 2018, Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering cut the lacquers for the vinyl edition from the 1/2" flat master reels. Slip Stitch and Pass vinyl Limited Edition (color splatter) was originally released November 23rd, 2018 at Record Store Day Black Friday and is now available in a Standard Edition of 180g audiophile grade black vinyl, which includes a limited time free MP3 download of the album transferred from vinyl.

• Double LP
• 180g Vinyl
• Over 75 minutes of Phish recorded live in Hamburg, Germany in 1997
• Available for the first time on vinyl 2LP
• Limited time free MP3 download of entire album

Side A:

1. Cities
2. Wolfman's Brother
Side B:
1. Jesus Just Left Chicago
2. Weigh
Side C:
1. Mike's Song
2. Lawn Boy
3. Weekapaug Groove
Side D:
1. Hello My Baby
2. Taste

Customers Also Like