Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Prince 1999 Super Deluxe Edition 10LP & DVD Box Set


Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Super Deluxe Edition 10LP & DVD Box Set!

2021 Grammy Award Nominee:
• Best Historical Album: 1999 Super Deluxe Edition

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 130/500!

The Super Deluxe Edition brings fans all the audio material that Prince officially released in and around 1982, as well as 23 previously unissued studio tracks recorded between November 1981 and January 1983, and a complete live audio performance of the 1999 tour recorded at the late show (the second of two that day) in Detroit, MI on November 30, 1982.

In addition, the Super Deluxe set boasts a brand-new DVD containing another complete, previously unreleased concert from the 1999 tour, recorded in multi-cam live at the Houston Summit on December 29, 1982.

The Super Deluxe Edition set also features Prince's previously unseen handwritten lyrics for several songs from the era, including the hit "Little Red Corvette", plus images of the analog tape reels from the vault and rare photography from Prince's early '80s photographer, Allen Beaulieu. The Super Deluxe Edition is completed with brand-new liner notes by longtime Rolling Stone critic David Fricke, revered Guns N' Roses bassist and author (and Prince superfan) Duff McKagan, Minneapolis historian and radio host Andrea Swensson, and Prince scholar Duane Tudahl.

Fricke notes, "A landmark collection of vision, craft, and urgency - an unprecedented immersion in the frenetic momentum and private working world of Prince in 1981 and 1982, en route to the profound breakthrough of his fifth studio album, 1999."

I didn't want to do a double album, but I just kept writing... I always compare songwriting to a girl walking in the door. You don't know what she's going to look like, but all of a sudden she's there.
-Prince, November 1982
It's like an alternate universe for the album. As with the Purple Rain box set a couple years ago, this macro look at 1999 shows not just Prince's genius but the breadth of his brilliance at the time. The songs that made the cut on 1999 - which already lasts more than 70 minutes - were just a sliver of what he was doing at the time. What's left is for you to ponder all the musical thoughts and ideas he didn't record.
-Rolling Stone, 4.5/5 Stars
This material is mind-blowing for anybody who owns more than a Prince compilation CD. While the vault discs' quality is mostly front-packed, they can easily be narrowed down into a shorter, airtight highlights playlist. Further, the sound, as you'd expect from Bernie Grundman, has smooth top-end extension, dynamics, presence, and excellent tonal balance. Overall, this box set is a win all around, providing a fascinating look into Prince's workaholic creative peak.
-Malachi Lui, Analog Planet's Best Reissues of the Decade, March 2020
This box defines excellence in reissue sourcing, assembling, mastering, pressing, annotation and packaging. What Prince managed is truly 'mind-blowing' and though I didn't expect to, I listened to the entire set in one sitting and came away more impressed by his work and more depressed by his death.
-Michael Fremer, Analog Planet's Best Reissues of the Decade, March 2020


  • Super Deluxe Edition 10LP & DVD Box Set
  • LP 1-2: '1999' album remastered for the very first time
  • LP 3-4: Remastered 7" edits / 12" mixes / promo versions
  • LP 5-6: Vault Tracks part 1 (recorded between November 1981 to April 1982)
  • LP 7-8: Vault Tracks part 2 (recorded between April 1982 to January 1983)
  • LP 9-10: Live in Detroit, November 30, 1982, previously unreleased
  • DVD: Live in Houston, December 29, 1982, previously unreleased (NTSC / Linear PCM / Region: 0)
  • 36-page Booklet with new liner notes by Duff McKagan, David Fricke & Andrea Swensson + Vault notes by Duane Tudahl
  • Limited time download code for all audio tracks
  • Silver foil slipcase


Records One & Two - Original Album Remastered

Side 1:
  1. 1999
  2. Little Red Corevette
  3. Delirious
Side 2:
  1. Let's Pretend We're Married
  2. D.M.S.R.
Side 3:
  1. Automatic
  2. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute)
  3. Free
Side 4:
  1. Lady Cab Driver
  2. All The Critics Love U In New York
  3. International Lover

Records Three & Four - Promo Mixes & B-Sides Remastered

Side 5:
  1. 1999 (7" Stereo Edit)
  2. 1999 (7" Mono Promo-Only Edit)
  3. Free (Promo Only Edit)
  4. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore? ("1999" B-Side)
  5. Little Red Corvette (7" Edit)
Side 6:
  1. All The Critics Love U In New York (7" Edit)
  2. Lady Cab Driver (7" Edit)
  3. Little Red Corvette (Dance Remix Promo-Only Edit)
  4. Little Red Corvette (Special Dance Mix)
Side 7:
  1. Delirious (7" Edit)
  2. Horny Toad ("Delirious" B-Side)
  3. Automatic (7" Edit)
  4. Automatic (Video Version)
  5. Let's Pretend We're Married (7" Edit)
Side 8:
  1. Let's Pretend We're Married (7" Mono Promo-Only Edit)
  2. Irresistible Bitch ("Let's Pretend We're Married" B-Side)
  3. Let's Pretend We're Married (Video Version)
  4. D.M.S.R. (Edit)

Records Five-Eight - Vault Tracks

Side 9:
  1. Feel U Up
  2. Irresistible Bitch
  3. Money Don't Grow On Trees
  4. Vagina
Side 10:
  1. Rearrange
  2. Bold Generation
  3. Colleen
Side 11:
  1. International Lover (Take 1, Live In Studio)
  2. Turn It Up
  3. You're All I Want
Side 12:
  1. Something In The Water (Does Not Compute) (Original Version)
  2. If It'll Make U Happy
  3. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore? (Take 2, Live In Studio)
Side 13:
  1. Possessed (1982 Version)
  2. Delirious (Full-Length)
Side 14:
  1. Purple Music
  2. Yah, You Know
  3. Moonbeam Levels
Side 15:
  1. No Call U
  2. Can't Stop This Feeling I Got
  3. Do Yourself A Favor
Side 16:
  1. Don't Let Him Fool Ya
  2. Teacher, Teacher
  3. Lady Cab Driver / I Wanna Be Your Lover / Head / Little Red Corvette (Tour Demo)

Records Nine & Ten - Live In Detroit, 11/30/82

Side 17:
  1. Controversy
  2. Let's Work
  3. Little Red Corvette
  4. Do Me, Baby
Side 18:
  1. Head
  2. Uptown
  3. Interlude
  4. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore?
Side 19:
  1. Automatic
  2. International Lover
  3. 1999
Side 20:
  1. D.M.S.R.

DVD - Live In Houston, 12/29/82

  1. Controversy
  2. Let's Work
  3. Do Me, Baby
  4. D.M.S.R.
  5. Interlude
  6. Piano Improvisation (Contains Elements Of "With You")
  7. How Come U Don't Call Me Anymore?
  8. Lady Cab Driver
  9. Automatic
  10. International Lover
  11. 1999
  12. Head (Contains Elements Of "Sexuality")

Customers Also Like