Genre: Folk
Label: Nonesuch
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Randy Newman Good Old Boys LP

Randy Newman

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Vinyl LP Reissue!
First Time On Vinyl In Decades!

The fifth album from Randy Newman, released in 1974, peaked at #36 on the Billboard 200, becoming his first album to achieve major commercial success.

With a concept of the viewpoint of inhabitants of the Deep South, Newman addresses generally taboo topics such as slavery and racism. He incorporates actual historic events into the album mentioning the Great Mississippi Flood of 1927 as well as a plea to President Richard Nixon to alleviate poverty as a result of the 1970s' recession. Newman performs with members of The Eagles on a song written by Huey Long and Castro Carazo, "Every Man A King".

After starting his songwriting career as a teenager, Randy Newman began recording as a singer and pianist in 1968 with his self-titled album. Throughout the 1970s he released several other acclaimed albums such as: 12 Songs, Sail Away, and Good Old Boys. In addition to his solo recordings and regular international touring, Newman began composing and scoring for films in the 1980s. The list of movies he has worked on since then includes The Natural, Awakenings, Ragtime, all three Toy Story pictures, Seabiscuit, James and the Giant Peach, A Bug's Life, and Disney/Pixar's Monsters University, the prequel to Monsters Inc. (which he also scored).

Randy Newman's many honors include six Grammys, three Emmys, and two Academy Awards. He was inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2002 and the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013—the same year he was given an Ivor Novello PRS for Music Special International Award. Mostly recently, Newman was presented with a PEN New England Song Lyrics of Literary Excellence Award in June 2014.

• Vinyl LP

1. Rednecks
2. Birmingham
3. Marie
4. Mr. President (Have Pity On The Working Man)
5. Guilty
6. Louisiana 1927
7. Every Man A King
8. Kingfish
9. Naked Man
10. A Wedding In Cherokee County
11. Back On My Feet Again
12. Rollin'

Customers Also Like