Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Madfish
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Rick Wakeman & the English Rock Ensemble A Gallery of the Imagination 2LP

Rick Wakeman & the English Rock Ensemble

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming February 24, 2023 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Wakeman's 2023 Concept Album on Double LP!

The conception of A Gallery of the Imagination began at the age of five. Rick's childhood piano teacher, Mrs. Symes, taught him that musicians with instruments are like an artist with paint; something that Rick carried through his life, creating sonic paintings through his composition.

Wakeman says: "One of my great loves is going to museums and art galleries and seeing all the different types of art, so I thought, why not a music gallery?...A Gallery of the Imagination? People can paint their own mind pictures to the different types of music that are on the album. It is very diverse and for me it works very well because the concept holds it all together."

Just as you might find a vast array of styles in an art gallery, Wakeman presents a plethora of musical aesthetics throughout the record. Inspired by the menagerie he created; Rick recalled the advice of his beloved teacher and has presented these tracks as pictures in a gallery - A Gallery of the Imagination. Amongst the many clear prog influences and soaring Moog solos, Wakeman treats the ears to two solo piano numbers, which reflect Rick's classical roots and his particular love of the romantic period. On the other eight unconventional vocal tracks, Rick showcases the distinctive descriptive music carefully around the poetic lyrics.

"It is a very tactile album," Rick explains. "I'd like to feel that people can actually touch the music." Fans are encouraged to create their own artworks inspired by the music, which one day Rick hopes to be displayed.

The lineup on A Gallery of the Imagination - as with Rick's previous album The Red Planet - features The English Rock Ensemble: bassist Lee Pomeroy, guitarist Dave Colquhoun, drummer Ash Soan and on vocals Hayley Sanderson, famous for her work as a vocalist on the UK TV show Strictly Come Dancing.

Join Rick Wakeman for a stroll around A Gallery of the Imagination - "a gallery that belongs to everyone"!


  • Double Vinyl LP



  1. Hidden Depths
  2. The Man in the Moon
  3. A Mirage in the Clouds
  4. The Creek
  5. My Moonlight Dream
  6. Only When I Cry


  1. Cuban Carnival
  2. Just a Memory
  3. The Dinner Party
  4. A Day Spent on the Pier
  5. The Visitation
  6. The Eyes of a Child

Customers Also Like