Genre: Alternative
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Rilo Kiley Take Offs and Landings 2LP

Rilo Kiley

$19.99 $26.99
(You save $7.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Indie-Classic Debut Full-Length Reissued on Double LP!

Having been recently reissued (and immediately sold-out) as a limited-edition 20th anniversary color variant, Barsuk Records is happy to have Rilo Kiley's debut full-length Take Offs and Landings back in print on 2xLP in standard-weight black vinyl.

With a sound that veers from the acoustic simplicity and poetic lyricism of coffeehouse folk to the bouncy, lo-fi appeal of D.I.Y. indie pop, this California quartet wrote melodies so damn catchy, you might almost think you've heard them before. Jenny Lewis (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Blake Sennet (guitar, vocals), Pierre de Reeder (bass) and Dave Rock (drums, later replaced by ex-Lassie Foundation member Jason Boesel) formed Rilo Kiley in 1998 in Los Angeles. Three years after its formation, the band initially self-released 2001's Take Offs and Landings before signing to Barsuk, who promptly reissued the album. Rilo Kiley quickly joined the ranks of labelmates Death Cab for Cutie and other acts such as Bright Eyes, The Shins, and The Decemberists as early '00s indie rock exploded into the mainstream.

Songs like "Go Ahead" and "Bulletproof" showcase the band's most distinctive asset — the sweet vocals and bittersweet lyrics of Jenny Lewis — while the breezy hooks and driving beats of tunes like "Wires and Waves" and "Always" show the band knows how to craft songs of undeniable infectiousness.

While the band stopped releasing albums after 2007's Under the Blacklight, their popularity has continued to grow in subsequent years. In celebration of the 20th anniversary, Stereogum recently posted a lengthy feature on Take Offs and Landings' influence over the current landscape of indie rock, quoting Waxahatchee's Katie Crutchfield and noting, "The way millennials have reminisced about Rilo Kiley's personal impact often mirrors the language Generation X has used to describe the riot grrrl movement only a decade before. If Kathleen Hanna's goal was to tell women in her crowds that their anger was justified, [the band's primary songwriter and singer Jenny] Lewis represented the opposing side of the same coin via Rilo Kiley: It's OK to be unabashedly and emphatically sad."


  • Double LP
  • 2023 Reissue
  • Made in Czech Republic


  1. Go Ahead
  2. Science vs. Romance
  3. Wires and Waves
  4. Pictures of Success
  5. August
  6. Bulletproof
  7. Plane Crash In C
  8. Variations on a Theme (Science vs. Romance)
  9. Small Figures In a Vast Expanse
  10. Don't Deconstruct
  11. Always
  12. We'll Never Sleep (God Knows We'll Try)
  13. Rest of My Life
  14. Variations on a Theme (Plane Crash In C)

Customers Also Like