Genre: Folk
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Robbie Basho Songs Of The Great Mystery - The Lost Vanguard Sessions 2LP (Clear Vinyl)

Robbie Basho

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

Cult Acoustic Guitar Virtuoso On Double LP!
Never Before Available On Any Physical Format!
Pressed On Clear Vinyl - Limited To 1000 Copies!

Robbie Basho was one of the big three American acoustic guitar innovators, John Fahey and Leo Kottke being the other two. Basho was the least commercially successful of the three, but his influence and reputation has steadily grown since his untimely death in 1986 at the age of 45. And with good reason; for Basho's deeply spiritual approach, intellectual rigor and formal explorations (among his goals was the creation of a raga system for American music), present a deeply compelling, multi-faceted artist.

Basho was actually a college friend of John Fahey, and his early recordings (like Kottke's) were for Fahey's Takoma label. Following Fahey's move to Vanguard, Basho followed suit, and released Voice of the Eagle and Zarthus for the label in 1972 and 1974, respectively (his most commercially successful records were made for the Windham Hill label later in the decade). Flash forward to 2009: Vanguard contacted guitarist (and long-time Basho champion) Glenn Jones with the intriguing news that an unreleased Robbie Basho album session had recently been found, on a tape that, alas, lacked any real documentation. It was only 12 years later, when Jones, in the process of researching the liner notes for this release, discovered the truth: that not just the mysterious tape but both Voice of the Eagle and Zarthus were the result of one marathon session in 1971 or 1972 recorded in New York City by Vanguard staff engineer Jeffrey Zaraya.

Songs of the Great Mystery - The Lost Vanguard Sessions, then, takes its place as the third of the triumvirat of albums Basho recorded for the label, and it is their equal in every way, exploring, in particular, some of the same Native American themes found on Voice of the Eagle. Some of the tunes showed up on later albums in much different forms; 1978's Visions of the Country featured "A Day in the Life of Lemuria" (re-titled "Leaf in the Wind") and "Night Way" and "Laughing Thunder, Crawling Thunder" went through various permutations before appearing on 1981's Rainbow Thunder as "Crashing Thunder". But for Basho fans, the originals will probably steal the show, particularly "Song of the Great Mystery", which, unlike some of the songs here that showcase Basho's singing and piano-playing, brings to the fore his amazing six-string guitar technique and touch.

Vanguard briefly put these sessions up digitally when they were located, but Real Gone Music's release represents the first time they have come out in any physical form (and the alternate take of "A Day in the Life of Lemuria", also discovered by Jones, has never been heard anywhere). Featuring track-by-track annotation, rare photos (including Basho's own handwritten notes found in the tape box), and remastering by Mike Milchner of SonicVision, Songs of the Great Mystery - The Lost Vanguard Sessions is a timely release heralding the release of a new documentary and an upcoming Basho box set. Available on a double-LP set pressed in clear vinyl at Gotta Groove Records, limited to 1000 copies and housed inside a gatefold jacket. A great American artist, finally getting his due!

...pressed to two pieces of clear wax that allow for better fidelity and a better chance to hear Basho's thundering acoustic guitar work and his trilling vocals that call to mind Melanie or the days when ANOHNI was known as Antony Hegarty. A good chunk of this material was re-worked for later Basho releases, but it is still exciting to hear them in their nascent form. And the previously unheard work here are little treasures.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Limited Edition - 1000 copies
  • Clear Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Remastered by Mike Milchner at SonicVision
  • Pressed at Gotta Groove Records
  • Gatefold jacket
  • Notes by Glenn Jones including track-by-track commentary
  • Rare photos
  • First physical release of any kind
  • Never-before-heard alternate take of "A Day In the Life Of Lemuria"


Side One:

  1. A Day In The Life Of Lemuria
  2. Night Way
  3. The Butterfly Of Wonder

Side Two:

  1. Laughing Thunder, Crawling Thunder
  2. Thunder Sun

Side Three:

  1. Kateri Tekakwitha
  2. Thunder Love

Side Four:

  1. Song Of The Great Mystery
  2. Death Song
  3. A Day In The Life Of Lemuria (Alternate Take)

Customers Also Like