Robert Fripp Exposure - Fourth Edition (Steven Wilson Mix) 200g Import LP

Robert Fripp

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Coming May 27, 2022 pre-order your copy today! Orders with both pre-order and in stock items will have all in stock items shipped immediately!

Fripp's Classic Debut On 200g Vinyl!
Newly Mixed From The Original Multi-Track Tapes By Steven Wilson!
Mastered By Jason Mitchell At LOUD Mastering!

After King Crimson's dissolution in 1974, Robert Fripp embarked on a lengthy sabbatical away from the public eye. His relocation from Great Britain to New York in February 1978 marked his return as a producer, solo artist, and "wild card" collaborator with an impressive roster of artists including Daryl Hall, Blondie, Peter Gabriel, and David Bowie.

Fripp's first solo album, Exposure, was released in 1979. A further two solo records, Under Heavy Manners/God Save The Queen and Let The Power Fall, followed, and in 1980 he formed The League Of Gentlemen. Described as a New Wave dance band, this led to King Crimson's reformation in 1981.

The term "classic album" has been devalued somewhat through overuse, but if ever an album has proved worthy of the term, it's Robert Fripp's 1979 solo debut, Exposure. An invitation from David Bowie and Brian Eno in July 1977 resulted in his appearance as lead guitarist on Heroes, David Bowie's second 1977 album, and marked Fripp's return to being a full-time musician. Further work with Daryl Hall, Peter Gabriel, The Roches & Blondie (a version of ''I Feel Love'' sung by Debbie Harry was planned for inclusion on the album but never recorded) preceded the sessions.

Recorded at the Record Plant in New York, the album was originally conceived as part of a trilogy alongside Daryl Hall's Sacred Songs and Peter Gabriel's second solo album (both Fripp-produced). Exposure was delayed from its scheduled 1978 release date when RCA postponed the release of the Hall album (which remained unissued until 1980) and Hall's then-manager insisted that some of Hall's vocals be removed from the album.

When the album finally appeared in 1979, its mixture of songs, singers, instrumentals, snatches of speech, audio vérité sound collages - all linked by an autobiographical/diary approach - presented a very different musician from that of the initial King Crimson period (1969-74). Even in a period when the wheel seemed to be reinvented on a routine basis, a time when ''expect the unexpected'' was the best approach to any number of recordings, Exposure stood apart. It still does.

Now presented in single LP form, remixed from the original multi-track master tapes by Steven Wilson as part of his work on the Exposures box set, the album retains all of the power and vitality that made it such a compelling listen when first released.

Exposure is one of [Fripp's] most varied and successful rock albums, offering a broad selection of styles.
-Ted Mills,, 4.5/5 stars


  • Newly Mixed from the Original Multi-Track Tapes by Steven Wilson
  • Mastered by Jason Mitchell at LOUD Mastering
  • 200g Vinyl
  • Import


Side A:

  1. Preface
  2. You Burn Me Up I'm A Cigarette
  3. Breathless
  4. Disengage
  5. North Star
  6. Chicago
  7. NY3
  8. Mary

Side B:

  1. Exposure
  2. Haaden Two
  3. Urban Landscape
  4. I May Not Have Had Enough Of Me But I've Had Enough Of You
  5. First Inaugural Address To The I.A.C.E Sherborne House
  6. Water Music I
  7. Here Comes The Flood
  8. Water Music II
  9. Postscript

Customers Also Like