Genre: Pop Rock
Label: ATO
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Rodrigo Y Gabriela 9 Dead Alive LP (Red Vinyl)

Rodrigo Y Gabriela

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
First Album of New Music Since 2009's "11:11" on Red Vinyl!

ATO proudly releases "9 Dead Alive", the 2014 studio album by acoustic rock maestros Rodrigo y Gabriela. The album is the band's first record of new material since 11:11 which was released in 2009. 9 Dead Alive was recorded and produced by Rod and Gab at their studio in Ixtapa, Mexico. Mixing was handled by Andrew Scheps (Black Sabbath, Adele, Metallica) in Los Angeles.

9 Dead Alive sees Rodrigo y Gabriela playing face to face, guitar versus guitar, bursting with melodic energy and rhythmic invention. Recorded at their Pacific Coast hideaway in late summer 2013, the album captures the warmth and spontaneity of two great musicians locked in together; perfectly distilled into nine songs teeming with desire, elegance and gusto.

Each of the songs on the album is a personal celebration of individuals who have passed on, but through their deeds and words still resonate in the 21st century. Going as far back as Eleanor of Aquitaine (1122-1204) all the way through history to include Viktor Frankl (1905-1997), this diverse and fascinating list will strike a chord with anyone familiar with the duo's passion for human rights, literature, history and philosophy.

Since 2009's album "11:11", the duo have collaborated on the soundtracks to "Pirates of The Caribbean: On Stranger Shores" and "Puss N' Boots".

Rodrigo (Sanchez) and Gabriela (Quintero) are two fast-fingered, Dublin-based, Mexicans with a unique sound created on acoustic guitars. Their music is difficult to define, straddling both world and rock, and often imbued with timeless Hispano--classical influences. The fire in it comes from their life-long passion for metal music.

Rodrigo is a deft finger-picker who can move from raging speed to sensual soul in the space of a fret, while Gabriela employs fast, rhythmic techniques. Her percussionist's thrashing of strings and drumming of the instrument's body inevitably raises comparisons with flamenco -- which they acknowledge as an influence but swerve as a pigeonhole.

• Vinyl LP
• Red Vinyl
• Includes download code

1. The Soundmaker (inspired by Antonio de Torres Jurado: 1817-1892)
2. Torito (inspired by animals and nature)
3. Sunday Neurosis (inspired by Viktor Frankl: 1905-1997)
4. Misty Moses (inspired by Harriet Tubman: 1820-1913)
5. Somnium (inspired by Sor Juana Ines de la Cruz: 1651-1695)
6. Fram (inspired by Fridtjof Nansen: 1861-1930)
7. Megalopolis (inspired by Gabriela Mistral: 1889-1957)
8. The Russian Messenger (inspired by Fyodor Dostoyevsky: 1821-1881)
9. La Salle Des Pas Perdus (inspired by Eleanor of Aquitaine: 1122-1204)

Customers Also Like