Genre: Pop Rock
Size: 12"
Format: 33RPM,


Roy Orbison The All-Time Greatest Hits Of Roy Orbison Numbered Limited Edition 180g 2LP

Roy Orbison

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
MFSL 2-304

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

Numbered, Limited Edition! Half-Speed Mastered From Original Stereo Master Tapes! Pressed at RTI!

TAS Recommended! Rated a 'Best Audiophile Label Recording' in the November 2009 issue of The Absolute Sound!

Rare is the voice, personality, and image that defines cool for more than 50 years. But Roy Orbison simply had it all – the tender tone, the laidback charisma, the mellifluous baritone, the cover-magazine looks, the gazing eyes hidden behind black Ray-Ban shades. And of course, the songs. Sad ("Only the Lonely"). Soaring ("Crying"). Summery ("Dream Baby"). Sweet ("Blue Angel"). Sentimental ("Pretty Paper"). Sensuous ("Shahdaroba").

Few singers ever captured such a rainbow of romantic emotions – longing, heartache, hope, loss, melancholy – with such effortlessness, smoothness, and suaveness. An early rock n' roll pioneer that defied songwriting tradition, Orbison is at home whether playing with orchestral strings, rockabilly bands, doo-wop singers, jumping horn sections, or swinging pop groups. Like fellow Sun Records alums Johnny Cash and Elvis Presley, his art is timeless, his command irreproachable.

No wonder, then, that a basic search literally turns up dozens upon dozens of compilations. Demand for Orbison's trademark vocal shiver and pussycat purr has never been greater. But with so many duplicative collections available, which one to get? Mobile Fidelity recognized that none of the available releases had the necessary mark of quality – namely, first-rate sound. So they changed that by providing a necessary sonic update to the best collection – a 1972 set that has never once gone out-of-print.

Remastered from the original analog master tapes for the first time ever, here are all of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame member's finest singles for Monument Records in one place, all claiming a clarity, richness, tonality, and presence that has never been before experienced outside of the studio. Captured by legendary producer Fred Foster, Orbison's famous voice now reverberates with a realistic decay and astonishing purity that puts all previous compilations to shame.

And there's no arguing with the 20-song track list, which includes no fewer than 15 Top 100 singles, beginning with the career-launching "Only the Lonely" and climaxing with the international smash "Oh, Pretty Woman," the last cut the Grammy winner made for Monument before departing for MGM in 1965. There is not a weak tune on this album, and you will never hear them sound better.

Actual customer testimonial: "You guys rock!! Just received the Orbison MFSL's today... Once again, NO CORNER DENTS, SEAM SPLITS OR TORN SHRINK. The packaging is amazing!! Nobody else goes through the effort to DOUBLE BOX a few lps." - Doug and Patty R. - Minnesota 10/31/08

• Numbered, Limited Edition
• Specially Plated and Pressed on 180 Gram High Definition Vinyl
• Mastered from the Original Stereo Master Tapes
• Pressed at RTI
• Double LP
• Gatefold Packaging

1. Only the Lonely
2. In Dreams
3. Uptown
4. Candy Man
5. Working For The Man
6. Dream Baby
7. Crying
8. Mean Woman Blues
9. Running Scared
10. Love Hurts
11. Shahadaroba
12. Blue Angel
13. Falling
14. Leah
15. I'm Hurtin'
16. It's Over
17. Blue Bayou
18. Pretty Paper
19. Oh, Pretty Woman
20. The Crowd

Customers Also Like