Genre: Pop Rock
Label: EMI
Size: 12"
Format: 45RPM,


Rusty The Resurrection of Rust 45rpm LP


Availability: Backordered
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

6 Newly Recorded Songs from Elvis Costello's First Band on 45rpm Vinyl LP!
Costello & Former Bandmate Allan Mayes Reunite After 50 Years!

Elvis Costello and his partner in his first band Rusty, Allan Mayes, have reunited for, as Costello puts it, "the record we would have cut when we were 18, if anyone had let us."

The Resurrection of Rust comprises newly recorded renditions of six songs drawn from Rusty's 1972 set lists: duets on two 1972 Nick Lowe tunes, "Surrender to the Rhythm" and "Don't Lose Your Grip on Love"; Kentucky songwriter Jim Ford's "I'm Ahead If I Can Quit While I'm Behind"',' and two originals, "Warm House" (written by D.P. MacManus [aka Elvis Costello] in 1971) and "Maureen & Sam" (a musical collaboration by Mayes and MacManus); and finally, an arrangement incorporating the Neil Young songs "Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere" and "Dance, Dance, Dance", the latter witnessing Costello's debut on the electric violin.

Rusty are accompanied by The Imposters and Bob Andrews of Brinsley Schwarz.

...[T]his sounds like two old friends taking a musical trip down memory lane and having a ball doing it....[A] glorious recollection of a youth well misspent, it's hard not to love if you care about Costello at all.
-Mark Deming,


  • Vinyl LP
  • 45rpm
  • 6 Newly Recorded Renditions from Elvis Costello's First Band, Rusty
  • Gatefold Jacket
  • Made in the UK


Side One:

  1. Surrender to the Rhythm
  2. I'm Ahead If I Can Quit While I'm Behind
  3. Warm House (And an Hour of Joy)

Side Two:

  1. Don't Lose Your Grip on Love
  2. Maureen & Sam
  3. Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere / Dance Dance Dance

Customers Also Like