Sara Watkins Under The Pepper Tree LP

Sara Watkins

$14.99 $20.99
(You save $6.00 )
Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.

Roots Musician Performs Soothing Family-Friendly Classics On Vinyl LP!
Includes Songs From Disney, Rodgers & Hammerstein, Harry Nilsson, The Beatles & More!
Featuring Her Nickel Creek & I'm With Her Bandmates!

For two decades, Sara Watkins has been one of the most visible artists in roots music, with her catalog ranging from solo albums and Watkins Family Hour, a duo with her brother Sean Watkins, to her Grammy-winning bands Nickel Creek and I'm With Her.

With the nostalgic and gentle new album Under The Pepper Tree, Sara Watkins offers a comforting record for those moments as daily rhythms fade into nightly rituals - and when a child's imagination comes to life.

Made with families in mind, the personal project encompasses songs she embraced as a child herself, as well as the musical friendships she's made along the way. Recorded in Los Angeles with producer Tyler Chester, Under The Pepper Tree brings storytelling, solace, and encouragement to the listener, no matter the age.

I've never made a record like this before - a record for children. The concept began in the beginning of the pandemic as we embraced what felt like endless days with our own children and families while sheltering in place.

I began a search for songs that ease the shift from day to evening, from the real to the imagined. Many of these songs have been with me since childhood, and returning to them as a parent has reminded me of the magic that happens when we listen with our imaginations.

I hope this record fills homes with delight and calm and helps in the transition from day to night, din to dreams and chaos to rest.

-Sara Watkins

The soft focus of Under the Pepper Tree is alluring, even soothing - a record that could calm the nerves of frazzled parents as they put their child to sleep at the end of a long day.
-Stephen Thomas Erlewine,
This charming, hushed album, which pays tribute to the songs and songwriters that captured Watkins' attention as a kid, was constructed for nighttime listening - a post-bath cuddle collection for quiet singalongs and good tidings before bed. And each side of this album was edited to flow together like one continuous song, getting softer and calmer as it goes and ending with the lovely, spare rendition of The Beatles' 'Good Night' that had this listener wiping away tears. Even if you don't have any kids young enough to need an album like this in their nighttime routine, this could become a staple of your own evening music rotation.
-Robert Ham, Paste Magazine


  • Vinyl LP


Side A:

  1. Pure Imagination
  2. The Second Star To The Right
  3. Blue Shadows On The Trail (Feat. Nickel Creek)
  4. Edelweiss
  5. Moon River
  6. Under The Pepper Tree
  7. When You Wish Upon A Star
  8. Night Singing

Side B:

  1. La La Lu
  2. Tumbling Tumbleweeds (Feat. I'm With Her)
  3. Blanket For A Sail
  4. Beautiful Dreamer
  5. Stay Awake
  6. You'll Never Walk Alone
  7. Good Night

Customers Also Like