Genre: Pop Rock
Label: WEA
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Sara Watkins Sara Watkins 180g 2LP + CD

Sara Watkins

Availability: Discontinued
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Sara Watkins' self-titled debut, eagerly anticipated by the significant fan base she's built after nearly two decades as fiddle player and vocalist for Grammy Award-winning trio Nickel Creek, boasts an easygoing virtuosity. The youthful Watkins, who joined Nickel Creek when she was barely in her teens, displays formidable skill as a multi-instrumentalist, playing the guitar and ukulele as well as the fiddle, and is just as versatile, and breathtakingly mature, as a singer. Watkins incorporates folk, country, gospel, and pop into her 14-song set, produced by former Led Zeppelin bassist John Paul Jones and recorded in Los Angeles and Nashville. She's joined by a wide range of old friends and longtime heroes, including alt-country duo Gillian Welch and Dave Rawlings, Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers keyboardist Benmont Tench, and Elvis Costello's drummer Pete Thomas; colleagues from the bluegrass world like Tim O'Brien, Punch Brothers' Chris Eldridge, Ronnie McCoury, and Rayna Gellert: and Nickel Creek band-mates Christ Thile and Sean Watkins.

Watkins mixes eight of her own songs with tunes by such artists as John Hartford, Tom Waits, and David Garza. Her self-penned fiddle numbers are exuberant, foot-stomping instrumentals, while the songs for which she wrote both music and lyrics have a heart-meltingly lovelorn quality. Watkins knows how to channel in her own work the plaintive emotions of classic country and timeless pop. There's honesty and empathy on tracks like the sweetly soulful "My Friend", the brooding "Bygones", and rueful album closer, "Where Will You Be". She proves to be as astute as Emmylou Harris or Linda Rondstadt in her choice of covers, segueing gracefully from the aforementioned Waits, Garza and Hartford to the lighthearted country-and-western swing of Jimmie Rodgers' 'Any Old Time", to the world-weariness and spiritual yearning of Norma Blake's "Lord Won't You Help Me", to the romantic wistfulness of Jon Brion's "Same Mistakes".

"I didn't have a goal of making this a country record or a folk record," Watkins declares. "I didn't want to avoid anything - except faking it. This was a chance to make a record that doesn't represent anyone else but me."

• 180g Audiophile Quality Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket
• Includes complete album on CD

LP 1:

1. All This Time
2. Long Hot Summer Days
3. My Friend
4. Freiderick
5. Same Mistakes
6. Any Old Time
7. Pony
LP 2:
1.Lord Won't You Help Me
2. Jefferson
3. Give Me Jesus
4. Bygones
5. Too Much
6. Will We Go
7. Where Will You Be

Customers Also Like