Genre: Pop Rock
Label: Vinyl Passion
Format: 33RPM,
Size: 12"


Scott Walker The Beginning The Scott Engel Sessions DMM 180g Import LP

Scott Walker

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added
180g Vinyl LP!

Scott Walker (born Noel Scott Engel; January 9, 1943) is an American-born British singersongwriter, composer and record producer. He is noted for his distinctive baritone voice and for the unorthodox career path which has taken him from 1960s pop icon to 21st-century avantgarde musician. Anchored in his fascination with Elvis is "The Livin' End" placement as the opening track, a rockabilly tune disguised as an R&B number recorded in 1958, when Scott Engle was 15. What’s really weird is that this track was written by Henry Mancini with Rod McKuen. "Good for Nothin'" was written by Randy Sparks. These two cuts are the hardest-rocking Engle ever got, and they feel completely unhinged. His ferocious faux-Southern vocal style may have resembled Ronnie Dawson, but it was Presley rockabilly worship pure and simple. There is another rocker, though not quite as intense as the former two or the original -- Johnny Burnette’s "Comin' Home" -- but it tries hard anyway, the cheesy background vocals destroy the mix. The foreshadowing of Engle’s excess as a balladeer can be heard on Burnette’s "I Don’t Want To Know," there is a tremendous expression against the guitars and the skittering brushed snare. Production schlock is everywhere present on McKuen’s "Sing Boy Sing," but though much higher -- we’re talking reedy tenor here -- the voice is already there (though he’s off-key on the refrains). The rest is all white-boy teen ballads.

• 180g Vinyl
• Direct Metal Master
• Import
• Made in the E.U.

Side A:

1. The Livin’ End
2. Good For Nothin'
3. I Don’t Want To Know
4. Comin’ Home
5. All I Do Is Dream Of You
6. Charlie Bop (Charley Bop)
7. Too Young To Know
8. Sing Boy Sing
9. Take This Love
10. Paper Doll
11. Blue Bell
12. Sunday
13. Wish You Were Here*
Side B:
1. Mr. Jones
2. Anything Will Do
3. Too Young
4. Kathleen
5. I Broke My Own Heart
6. What Do You Say
7. Are These Really Mine
8. Crazy In Love With You
9. The Golden Rule Of Love
10. When You See Her
11. Steady As A Rock
12. Forevermore

* The Chosen Few (Scott Engel and John Stewart)

Customers Also Like