Shostakovich & Schubert Cello Sonata & "Arpeggione" Sonata 180g LP

Daniel Shafran & Lydia Pecherskaya

Availability: In Stock
In Stock An In Stock item is available to ship normally within 24 business hours.
Preorder A Preorder is an item that has not yet been released. Typically the label will set a projected release date (that is subject to change). If a projected release date is known, we will include this in the description in red. Other Preorders are set to release 'TBA.' This means that release date is yet 'To Be Announced'. The Preorder can be released anywhere between weeks, months or years from its initial announcement.
Backordered An Out Of Stock item is an item that we normally have available to ship but we are temporarily out of. We do not have a specific date when it will be coming.
Awaiting Repress Awaiting repress titles are in the process of being repressed by the label. No ETA is available at this time.
Expected On When an item is Out Of Stock and we have an estimated date when our stock should arrive, we list that date on our website in the part's description. It is not guaranteed.
Special Order A Special Order item is an item that we do not stock but can order from the manufacturer. Typical order times are located within the product description.
Adding to cart… The item has been added

TAS Rated 4/5 Music, 4.5/5 Sonics in the January 2023 Issue of The Absolute Sound!

RCA Living Stereo 180-Gram Vinyl LP!
Remastered from the Original Master Tape & Cut at 33 1/3rpm by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound!
Lacquers Plated by Gary Salstrom & Pressed on 180g Vinyl at Quality Record Pressings!

This item not eligible for any further discount offers!

RCA Living Stereo classical LPs - the gold standard for top quality orchestral performance and sound!

Analogue Productions' RCA Living Stereo Reissue Series No. 2, with 25 newly remastered mainstay classical albums, will delight and astound your ears with their clarity and warm, rich tone. As with our first highly-regarded LSC series, shortcomings of previous editions have been improved upon -- from the mastering, to the LP pressing, to the sharp-looking glossy heavyweight Stoughton Printing tip-on jackets that faithfully duplicate the original artwork, "Living Stereo" logo, "Shaded Dog" label and all!

Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound from the original 3-track master tapes, cut at 33 1/3, and plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings - makers of the world's finest-sounding vinyl LPs - no other editions match these for the quietest 180-gram platters available.

Cellist Daniel Shafran performs Shostakovich's Cello Sonata and "Arpeggione" Sonata by Schubert. Opulent musicianship, incandescent phrasing, febrile poetry and more mark this as a referential cult album by the album's dedicated fans.

The Leningrad-born Shafran (1923-1997) was a talented, strict perfectionist who rarely performed outside the USSR. His shimmering vibrato and tonal control set him apart from most other cellists and '(made) him the envy of many violinists,' as David Oistrakh put it. He shines in this album recorded for RCA while on tour in America; the original release has been a very expensive collector's favorite and an entry on our Super LP List for years. The engineering is warm and close-up, and it certainly favors the cello. Sony Japan released this on a perfectly respectable CD, but I can't help but notice more atmosphere around the instruments on this LP. The piano definitely fares better, and the cello is richer in the mid-range and sounds noticeably more natural. The Shostakovich is one of his most enjoyable pieces, neither turning too tragic nor blaring artificial triumph. Shafran doesn't dawdle in Schubert's famous Arpeggione Sonata, to put it mildly, but I enjoy the vivacity he brings to a composer I often find repetitive and soporific. It's nice to have an affordable copy of this LP at last.
-Stephen Estep, The Absolute Sound, January 2023, Music 4/5, Sonics 4.5/5


  • 180g Vinyl
  • 33 1/3rpm
  • Remastered from the Original Master Tape by Ryan Smith at Sterling Sound
  • Lacquers Plated by Gary Salstrom
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings


Daniel Shafran cello
Lydia Pecherskaya piano


Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975)

Cello Sonata, Op 40
  1. First Movement: Moderato
  2. Second Movement: Moderato Con Moto
  3. Third Movement: Largo
  4. Fourth Movement: Allegretto

Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Sonata in A Minor ("Arpeggione")
  1. First Movement: Allegro Moderato
  2. Second Movement: Adagio
  3. Third Movement: Allegretto

Customers Also Like